Thoroughbred Club Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Thoroughbred Club Stakes is a $160,000 Group 3 race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is run over 1200m and has set weights and penalties. The 1200m race is for three-year-old fillies and in 2020 will be on Saturday, October 10, the same day as four Group 1s at Caulfield.

Peter and Paul Snowden-trained California Zimbol to victory in the 2019 edition of the Thoroughbred Club Stakes. Loving Gaby finished second, Don’ttelltheboss placed third and Athiri rounded out the first four. After winning the race, California Zimbol placed third in the Group 3 Red Roses Stakes, whereas Loving Gaby won the Group 1 Manikato Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was renamed the Thoroughbred Club Stakes in 1976, having previously been known as the Maroona Handicap. In 1979 it was classed as a Group 3 race, and since then some decent horses, such as Sunlight, have won the race.

Jockey Kerrin McEvoy has seen great success in the Thoroughbred Club Stakes in recent years. He has ridden the winner in three of the last six years, guiding California Zimbol, Serene Majesty and Earthquake all to victory.

The fastest race time over the last 20 years belongs to Solar Charged, who ran 1:09.15 in 2010. The most recent winner of the Thoroughbred Club Stakes, California Zimbol, wasn’t far off, crossing the line first in 1:09.89.

2020 Thoroughbred Club Stakes Field

Horse Win Place
1 Letzbeglam (1)J: Michael Dee 58kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $9.50 $2.35
2 Bella Nipotina (5)J: Michael Rodd 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes $5.50 $1.65
3 Swats That (7)J: John Allen 57kg T: L & T Corstens $2.15 $1.22
4 Muntaseera (4)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $5.50 $1.65
5 Tarcoola Diva (2)J: Joe Bowditch 55kg T: Gemma Rielly $26.00 $4.80
6 Highly Discreet (3)J: Luke Nolen 55kg T: P Stokes $5.50 $1.65
7 Capriccio (8)J: Declan Bates 55kg T: Daniel Bowman $31.00 $5.50
8 Cave Hill (6)J: Craig Newitt 55kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $31.00 $5.50



2019 – California Zimbol (1:09.89)
2018 – Sunlight (1:10.15)
2017 – Invincible Star (1:09.52)
2016 – Hear The Chant (1:09.76)
2015 – Serene Majesty (1:09.77)
2014 – Earthquake (1:09.48)
2013 – Miss Longstocking (1:11.18)
2012 – Cavalry Rose (1:10.03)
2011 – Platelet (1:10.20)
2010 – Solar Charged (1:09.15)