Tesio Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 24, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Tesio Stakes is a 1600m Group 3 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne. It is run under handicap conditions and is for mares aged four and older. The $200,000 race will be run on Saturday, October 24, the same day as the Group 1 Cox Plate.

Amangiri won the 2019 edition of the Tesio Stakes for the Hawkes stable, beating out Seewhatshebrings and Vanuatu in what was a tight race. From the Tesio Stakes, Amagiri went on to finish mid-field in the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Listed Tesio Stakes was first run in 1990, with Princess Pushy claiming victory. Since then, the race has seen some impressive winners in the likes of Suavito and Lubiton. There have also been two dead heats in the race’s history.

No trainer or jockey has been able to establish consistent success in the Tesio Stakes, however, Lee Freedman did train consecutive winners in 2005 and 2006. The first of those was Matras, before Valkyrie Diva won a year late.

Amangiri ran an impressive 1:35.47 to win the 2019 edition of the Tesio Stakes, however, it wasn’t good enough to beat Lubiton’s 2017 time, which also happens to be the Moonee Valley 1600m track record. The year she won, the Bjorn Baker-trained runner clocked a stunning 1:34.42, beating a decent field that included Invincibella and Oregon’s Day.


2019 – Amangiri (1:35.57)
2018 – Shoko (1:36.03)
2017 – Lubiton (1:34.42)
2016 – Kaniana (1:39.17)
2015 – Coronation Shallan (1:36.15)
2014 – Suavito (1:35.62)
2013 – Catkins (1:37.77)
2012 – Star Of Giselle (1:35.73)
2011 – Ocean Challenger (1:38.73)
2010 – Lady Lynette (1:36.71)