Sydney Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $500,000

The Sydney Stakes is a 1200m Group 3 weight-for-age race held at Randwick Racecourse. It is for horses aged three and older and has a prize pool of $500,000. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 17, which is Caulfield Cup day.

Hugh Bowman rode Deprive to victory in the 2019 Sydney Stakes, with Champagne Cuddles and Brutal making up the placings. Deprive and Champagne Cuddles went on to run in the $1 million Redzel Stakes, both finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Academy Star won the 1968 Sydney Stakes, which was the very first running of the race. At that, it was a Principal race, then in 1978, it was classed as a List race. In 2018 it was graded as Group 3.

Two horses have been able to win the Sydney Stakes in consecutive years. Diamon Benny did it in the late 1980s and Famous Sheamus claimed victory in 2012 and 2013.

The race has changed distances a number of times but as of 2017, it has been run over 1200m. Since then, the fastest winning time belongs to In Her Time, who ran 1:08.26 when she won the Sydney Stakes

2020 Sydney Stakes Field

1Deprive (9)J: Ms Rachel King 58.5kg T: James Cummings$2.80$1.35
2Special Reward (10)J: Brenton Avdulla 58.5kg T: K A Lees$7.50$2.40
3Tactical Advantage (3)J: Jason Collett 58.5kg T: K A Lees$16.00$4.00
4Standout (5)J: Nash Rawiller 58.5kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$4.00$1.55
5Brave Song (4)J: Regan Bayliss 58.5kg T: P & P Snowden$34.00$6.50
6Signore Fox (6)J: Sam Clipperton 58.5kg T: P & P Snowden$26.00$5.50
7Military Zone (11)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 58.5kg T: P & P Snowden$17.00$4.20
8Trumbull (8)J: Tommy Berry 58.5kg T: Ms K Waugh$7.00$2.35
9Prime Candidate (1)J: Tim Clark 58.5kg T: Bjorn Baker$16.00$4.00
10Irithea (2)J: Joshua Parr 56.5kg T: Bjorn Baker$11.00$3.30
11Adelong (7)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: Brad Widdup$34.00$7.50



2019 – Deprive (1:08.62)
2018 – Pierata (1:08.62)
2017 – In Her Time (1:08.62)
2016 – Spieth (1:03.24) (1100m)
2015 – Dothraki (1:02.44) (1100m)
2014 – Deep Field (1:03.39) (1100m)
2013 – Famous Seamus (1:03.52) (1100m)
2012 – Famous Seamus (1:01.96) (1100m)
2011 – Title (1:04.59) (1100m)
2010 – Whitefriars (1:02.22) (1100m)