Sandown Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Sandown Stakes is a 1500m Group 3 race held at Sandown Racecourse in Victoria. The quality handicap has a prize pool of $160,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14.

Gold Fields won the 2019 Sandown Stakes for trainer Logan McGill. Mr Exclusive finished a close second, with Travimyfriend placing third over a length behind the winner. After the victory, Gold Fields raced twice more in 2019, running mid-field in the Group 2 Villiers Stakes and finishing third in the Listed Lord Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Sandown Stakes was in 1981, however, back then it was called the G.J. Coles Stakes. Tower Belle won in 1981 and since then the likes of Titanic Jack, Redkirk Warrior and Fifty Stars have claimed victory in the race.

Jockey Craig Williams has had great success in the Sandown Stakes in recent years, winning four times between 2011 and 2016. Two of those victories came on Mahisara, who saluted in 2012 and 2013.

2019 winner Gold Fields beat the field in 1:30.29, and although it was a decent 1500m time, it’s not the fastest the Sandown Stakes has seen. That honour belongs to Mahisara, who ran 1:29.20 in 2012.


2019 – Gold Fields (1:30.29)
2018 – Fifty Stars (1:31.08)
2017 – Dollar For Dollar (1:29.94)
2016 – Redkirk Warrior (1:30.66)
2015 – Charmed Harmony (1:29.48)
2014 – Pornichet (1:29.61)
2013 – Mahisara (1:23.55) (1400m)
2012 – Mahisara (1:29.20)
2011 – Under The Eiffel (1:32.47)
2010 – Larry’s Never Late (1:33.21)