Red Roses Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $150,000


Miami Bound Escapes 2020 Melbourne Cup Weight Penalty

Greg Carpenter, Racing Victoria’s Executive General Manager – Racing, and Chief Handicapper, has announced that Miami Bound will not receive a weight penalty for the 2020 Melbourne Cup (3200m). Miami Bound was eli... Continue Reading

Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play! James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Read more Horse Racing news

The Red Roses Stakes is a 1200m Group 3 race for three-year-old fillies held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has set weights plus penalties and a total prize pool of $300,000. In 2020, it will be held on Oaks Day, which is Thursday, November 5.

Sisstar won the 2019 edition of the Red Roses Stakes, edging out Niccovi and California Zimbol, who finished second and third, both less than a length behind the winner. The race was Sisstar’s last for the year.Last year colt Dalasan won the race for Leon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas with Raquel Clark on board. It was a good result for punters as Dalasan started as a $2.60 favourite. Dubious and Express Pass made up the placings while Sebrakate rounded out the first four.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Jockey Damien Oliver has had great success in the Red Roses Stakes over the years, winning it three consecutive years in the 2010s. The first victory came on Melrose Place in 2013 and was followed by wins on Onemorezeta and Secret Agenda. No trainer has quite been able to replicate that success.

2019 Red Roses Stakes winner Sisstar clocked 1:03.52 to claim victory, however, the fastest 1100m in the race belongs to Onemorezeta, who ran 1:03.19 in 2014. The fastest 1200m time in the race over the last 20 years is 1:08.32, which Shamal Wind recorded in 2012.


2019 – Sisstar (1:03.52)
2018 – Bleu Roche (1:03.82)
2017 – Jorda (1:03.36)
2016 – Spright (1:03.09)
2015 – Secret Agenda (1:04.09)
2014 – Onemorezeta (1:03.19)
2013 – Melrose Place (1:10.61) (1200m)
2012 – Shamal Wind (1:08.32) (1200m)
2011 – Emmalene (1:10.72) (1200m)
2010 – Curtana (1:10.87) (1200m)