Red Anchor Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 24, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000

The Red Anchor Stakes is a $200,000 Group 3 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria. It is run over 1200m with set weights plus penalties and is for three-year-olds. In 2020, it will be held on the same day as the Cox Plate, which is Saturday, October 24.

Jamie Kah rode Sartorial Splendor to victory in the 2019 Red Anchor Stakes, beating Condo’s Express and Three Beans. After winning the race, Sartorial Splendor went on to compete in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes, finishing mid-field behind winner Exceedance.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race, which is also sometimes known as the Australia Stakes, takes its name from champion horse Red Anchor. The stallion won the Victoria Derby, Caulfield Guineas and Cox Plate in 1984.

No horse has ever won the race in consecutive years, however, the John O’Shea/James McDonald trainer/jockey combination won the race in both 2015 and 2016. Their first victory came via Holler and the following year Archives saluted.

In 2015, Holler recorded the fastest time in the Red Anchor in the last 20 years, clocking 1:09.84. Sartorial Splendor won the most recent edition of the race in 1:11.22.

2020 Red Anchor Stakes Field & Odds

1Valaquenta (9)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: James Cummings$4.40$1.65
2Free To Move (7)J: Luke Currie 57kg T: K & K Keys$9.00$2.50
3Rock The Ring (5)J: Jamie Mott 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$10.00$2.70
4Ice Ice Baby (4)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: Ms W Kelly$10.00$2.70
5Portland Sky (1)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: M M Laurie$2.90$1.35
6Rhode Scholar (8)J: Michael Walker 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$34.00$6.00
7Bella Nipotina (6)J: Michael Rodd 56.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$4.80$1.75
8Mildred (3)J: Jordan Childs 56.5kg T: G M Begg$17.00$4.00
9Tarcoola Diva (2)J: Joe Bowditch 55kg T: Gemma Rielly$26.00$5.50



2019 – Sartorial Splendor (1:11.22)
2018 – Charge (1:10.00)
2017 – Eptimum (1:09.98)
2016 – Archives (1:12.14)
2015 – Holler (1:09.84)
2014 – Galaxy Pegasus (1:09.94)
2013 – Thermal Current (1:11.36)
2012 – Hidden Warrior (1:11.22)
2011 – Karuta Queen (1:10.60)
2010 – That’s Not It (1:11.68)