Ottawa Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds

Caulfield 4 3 19564607 2031079 2020092413092090d44292 500f 4f9a 882f 24a836a7b37d 1.jpg sd 800x600 1

The fourth and final Group 1 at Flemington on a stacked Derby Day is the 2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes (1600m), attracting a capacity field of 16 plus four emergencies. Favourite Mr Quickie has drawn out in barrier 16, ... Continue Reading

2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Empire Rose Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds Vandyke: ‘Question Marks’ on Alligator Blood in Golden Eagle O'Brien ready for the unorthodox in Derby Santa Ana Lane Skipping Yes Yes Yes Stakes for VRC Sprint Classic Read more Horse Racing news

The Ottawa Stakes is a 1000m Group 3 race for two-year-old fillies that is held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a $160,000 prize pool and is run with set weights. In 2020, it will take place on Tuesday, November 3, the same day as the Melbourne Cup.

Aryaaf won the 2019 edition of the Ottawa Stakes, with Muntaseera and Marchena running second and third respectively. After winning the race, Aryaaf took no further part in the spring, and in 2020 finished mid-field in the Blue Diamond Stakes

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The very first running of the Ottawa Stakes was in 1978, with Stage Hit racing to victory. Since then it has had a variety of different names, but in 2019 it ran under the original name.

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott stable has had great success in the Ottawa Stakes over recent times, winning it twice in the last four years. The first of those victories was in 2016, when Joao Moreira rode Invincible Star to victory, a year later Setsuna also crossed the line first for the training combination.

2019 winner Aryaaf clocked 0:58.53 to win the Ottawa Stakes, however, it was not the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Concealer, who crossed the line first in 2015 in a time of 0:57.33.


2019 – Aryaaf (0:58.53)
2018 – Bella Rosa (0:59.61)
2017 – Setsuna (0:58.24)
2016 – Invincible Star (0:58.37)
2015 – Concealer (0:57.33)
2014 – Antelucan (0:57.81)
2013 – Oakleigh Girl (0:57.51)
2012 – Villa Verde (0:56.73)
2011 – Applegate (0:58.55)
2010 – Spectrolite (0:59.30)