Newcastle Spring Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Newcastle
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Newcastle Spring Stakes is a 1600m Group 3 race held at Newcastle Racecourse. It is for three-year-olds, is run with set weights and has a prize pool of $160,000. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, November 14.

The 2019 edition of the Newcastle Spring Stakes was won by Godolphin’s Asiago. Game Of Thorn’s finished second, with the Gerald Ryan-trained Donandkim placing third. After the victory, Asiago did not run again in 2019, however, in 2020 she took part in the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes, finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Despite never being graded higher than a Group 3, some strong horses have won the Newcastle Spring Stakes over the years. Three-time Group 1 winner Shogun Lodge won the race in 1999, and Invincible Gem claimed victory when the race was held in early 2017.

Trainer James Cummings has dominated the Newcastle Spring Stakes over recent years, winning it three straight times. In late 2017 he saluted with Astoria and in 2018 Aramyo finished first for the stable. He also trained 2019 winner Asiago.

The fastest race time the Newcastle Spring Stakes has seen over the last 20 years is 1:34.83, which Allgunadoit ran in 2003. Asiago won the 2019 edition of the race in 1:36.85.


2019 – Asiago (1:36.85)
2018 – Aramayo (1:37.21)
2017 – Astoria (1:37.03)
2016 – Invincible Gem (1:36.43)
2015 – Devil Hawk (1:37.38)
2014 – Sweynesse (1:38.22)
2013 – Savvy Nature (1:36.37)
2012 – Proisir (1:35.78)
2011 – Darci Be Good (1:36.61)
2010 – Ilovethiscity (1:37.01)