Naturalism Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000

The Naturalism Stakes is a Group 3 open handicap race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is worth $160,000, raced over 2000m and is also known as the MRC Foundation Cup.

In 2020 the Naturalism Stakes will be run on Saturday, September 19, which is the same day as the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Michael Walker rode Brimham Rocks to victory in the 2019 Naturalism Stakes, with So You Win and Sikandarabad making up the places. Those who backed the gelding were rewarded in a big way as the runner had a starting price of $21.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Naturalism Stakes was first run in 1983 as the VATC Royal Show Handicap and was won by Mevron Boy. Since then a number of top horses have claimed victory in the race, including Zipping, Jameka and Harlem.

The race is named after star horse Naturalism who took home wins in races such as the Australian Derby, Turnbull Stakes, Rosehill Guineas and Caulfield Stakes.

2019 winner Brimham Rocks took home the win in 2:02.39, and although it was a solid time it wasn’t close to the quickest race time of the past 20 years. That honour belongs to Harlem, who in 2017 rocketed home in 2:00.43.

2020 Naturalism Stakes Field

1Mirage Dancer (13)J: Ben Melham 61kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$12.00$3.80
2Cape Of Good Hope (5)J: Jamie Mott 60.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$126.00$26.00
3Dr Drill (6)J: Craig Williams 59kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$5.00$2.00
4Haky (15)J: Declan Bates 59kg T: Archie Alexander$21.00$6.00
5Shared Ambition (9)J: Unknown 59kg T: C J Waller$0.00$0.00
6Steel Prince (3)J: Jye Mcneil 58.5kg T: A & S Freedman$34.00$8.00
7Mahamedeis (1)J: Rhys Mcleod 57.5kg T: Nick Ryan$14.00$4.20
8Gallic Chieftain (7)J: Damian Lane 56.5kg T: Archie Alexander$61.00$16.00
9Orderofthegarter (4)J: Damien Oliver 56kg T: D T O’brien$4.20$1.80
10In Good Health (17)J: Luke Nolen 55kg T: P G Moody$21.00$6.00
11Chapada (8)J: Daniel Stackhouse 55kg T: M D Moroney$21.00$6.00
12Dabiyr (2)J: Michael Walker 55kg T: C J Waller$13.00$4.00
13Polly Grey (12)J: John Allen 55kg T: C J Waller$20.00$5.50
14Game Keeper (10)J: Luke Currie 55kg T: T & C Mcevoy$7.00$2.50
15Think We’re Due (16)J: William Pike 55kg T: Andrew Noblet$26.00$6.50
16Djukon (19)J: Unknown 55kg T: C J Waller$0.00$0.00
17The King (20)J: Dean Yendall 55kg T: L Smith$91.00$21.00
18Kinane (14)J: Michael Dee 55kg T: C J Waller$7.00$2.50
19Super Girl (11)J: Billy Egan 55kg T: Joshua Julius$51.00$12.00
20Shandy (18)J: Unknown 55kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$10.00$3.30



2019 – Brimham Rocks (2:02.39)
2018 – Night’s Watch (2:02.19)
2017 – Harlem (2:00.43)
2016 – Jameka (2:03.97)
2015 – Magnapal (2:02.78)
2014 – Gris Caro (2:02.67)
2013 – Mr O’Ceirn (2:07.23)
2012 – Folding Gear (2:03.16)
2011 – December Draw (2:02.28)
2010 – Rainbow Styling (2:01.68)