Moonga Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Moonga Stakes is a Group 3 $200,000 race for horses four and older that is held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is raced over 1400m with set weights plus penalties. In 2020, the Moonga Stakes will be run on Saturday, October 17, the same day as the Caulfield Cup.

Streets Of Avalon won the 2019 edition of the Moonga Stakes, with Variation and Royal Meeting making up the placings. After winning the race, the gelding went on to compete in the Group 1 Kennedy Cantala, finishing mid-field. Later in the season, Streets Of Avalon won the Futurity Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race has been run under a variety of names, before finally settling on the Moonga Stakes in 2012. Darren Weir had fantastic success before being banned from the sport, claiming victory three times between 2014 and 2017.

Some excellent runners have claimed victory in the Moonga Stakes over the years, including Rough Habit, Lucky Hussler and Voodoo Lad. However, no horse has ever won the race in consecutive years.

2019 winner Streets Of Avalon claimed victory in the Moonga Cup in 1:23.94 but it wasn’t the fastest time the race has seen in the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Votilant, who ran 1:21.37 to win in 2005.

2020 Moonga Stakes Field

1Fifty Stars (8)J: John Allen 60kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$21.00$5.00
2Streets Of Avalon (9)J: Zac Spain 60kg T: S P Nichols$21.00$5.00
3Begood Toya Mother (12)J: Declan Bates 60kg T: Daniel Bowman$26.00$5.50
4Wild Planet (1)J: Hugh Bowman 59kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$5.00$1.85
5Gaulois (3)J: Mark Zahra 58.5kg T: James Cummings$26.00$5.50
6Pacodali (4)J: Luke Nolen 58.5kg T: Maddie Raymond$51.00$8.50
7The Inevitable (5)J: Ben Melham 58kg T: Scott Brunton$9.00$2.60
8Morvada (7)J: Damian Lane 58kg T: P W Jolly$21.00$5.00
9Windstorm (10)J: William Pike 58kg T: G & A Williams$2.25$1.30
10Best Of Days (11)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: James Cummings$8.00$2.50
11Morrissy (2)J: Craig Williams 57kg T: L & T Corstens$9.50$2.80
12Munitions (6)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: James Cummings$26.00$5.50



2019 – Streets Of Avalon (1:23.94)
2018 – Sircconi (1:24.97)
2017 – Ulmann (1:23.44)
2016 – Voodoo Lad (1:24.54)
2015 – Vashka (1:23.27)
2014 – Lucky Hussler (1:23.49)
2013 – Boban (1:23.88)
2012 – Whateverwhenever (1:23.71)
2011 – Love Conquers All (1:21.95)
2010 – Rothera (1:25.86)