Maribyrnong Plate

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The Maribyrnong Plate is a 1000m Group 3 sprint held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It is for two-year-old horses, is raced with set weights and has a total prize pool of $160,000. In 2020, it will be run on Thursday, November 5, which is Oaks Day.

Luke Nolen rode Hard Landing to victory in the 2019 edition of the Maribyrnong Plate. The David Hayes runner was good enough to edge out stablemate Baaqyah, with Tagaloa finishing third. After winning on debut, Hard Landing didn’t race again until 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

A number of top trainers have had good success in the Maribyrnong Plate in recent years, with Tony McEvoy, Robbie Laing, David Hayes and Lee Freedman all winning the race twice in a row at some point over the last 20 years. In fact, Freedman won the Maribyrnong Plate three times between 2003 and 2007.

Some top talent has won the Maribyrnong Plate over the years, including Vain and Testa Rossa. It was also the first victory in a Group race for two-time Group 1 winner Bel Esprit.

Hard Landing ran 0:58.92 to win the race in 2019, a time which fell over a second behind the fastest the Maribyrnong Plate has seen over the last 20 years. In 2001 Bel Esprit flew home in an impressive time of 0:57.03.


2019 – Hard Landing (0:58.92)
2018 – Vinicuna (0:58.63)
2017 – Run Naan (0:57.37)
2016 – Aspect (0:59.50)
2015 – Power Trip (0:58.84)
2014 – Prompt Return (0:57.50)
2013 – Boomwaa (0:59.39)
2012 – Direct Charge (0:58.33)
2011 – Real Stolle (0:57.71)
2010 – Arctic Command (0:57.90)