Lexus Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 31, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Lexus Stakes, also known as the Hotham Handicap, is a 2500m Group 3 race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a total prize pool of $300,000 and the winner gains a ballot exemption for the Melbourne Cup. In 2020, the race will be run on Saturday, October 31, the same day as the Victoria Derby.

Joseph O’Brien’s Downdraft won the 2019 edition of the Lexus Stakes. Carif finished a length and a half back in second place, while Azuro was over five lengths back in third. Downdraft did go on to compete in the Melbourne Cup, however, finished towards the back of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The very first running of the Lexus Stakes was way back in 1869, with Aurora claiming victory. Some top horses have since crossed the line first in the race, including Foxzami, Think Big and Prince Of Arran.

Gai Waterhouse has had solid success in the race over recent times, winning it twice over the last five years. The first of those was with Excess Knowledge in 2015 before training 2017 winner Cismontane alongside Adrian Bott.

Downdraft clocked 2:38.85 to win the 2019 edition of the Lexus Stakes, however, the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Maluckyday. In 2010, he ran 2:35.10 to claim victory.

2020 Lexus Stakes Field, Barriers and Odds

1Ashrun (2)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 61kg T: Andreas Wohler$4.20$1.70
2Brimham Rocks (5)J: Hugh Bowman 60kg T: C J Waller$9.50$2.90
3Hush Writer (11)J: Craig Williams 60kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$20.00$5.00
4Platinum Invador (8)J: Luke Nolen 59.5kg T: P G Moody$34.00$6.50
5Sound (6)J: Jamie Kah 59.5kg T: M D Moroney$8.00$2.50
6Azuro (7)J: Ben Melham 58kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$101.00$21.00
7Future Score (10)J: Fred W Kersley 58kg T: Matthew Cumani$7.00$2.35
8Carif (1)J: William Pike 57.5kg T: P & P Snowden$31.00$6.00
9Attorney (3)J: Jye Mcneil 57kg T: Matthew Smith$12.00$3.50
10Schabau (9)J: Mark Zahra 56.5kg T: Robert Hickmott$4.40$1.75
11Admire Robson (4)J: Glen Boss 56kg T: P A Preusker$6.00$2.20



2019 – Downdraft (2:38.85)
2018 – Prince Of Arran (2:37.46)
2017 – Cismontane (2:35.41)
2016 – Oceanographer (2:35.68)
2015 – Excess Knowledge (2:36.89)
2014 – Signoff (2:37.85)
2013 – Ruscello (2:39.87)
2012 – Kelinni (2:37.67)
2011 – Niwot (2:37.53)
2010 – Maluckyday (2:35.10)