Kingston Town Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Kingston Town Stakes is a $160,000 Group 3 race held at Randwick Racecourse. It is raced over 2000m and has set weights plus penalties. In 2020, it will be held on Saturday, September 19, the same day as the Group 1 George Main Stakes.

Finch won the 2019 edition of the Kingston Town Stakes, beating Stampede and Carzoff in an exciting race. After winning, Finch went on to place in the Turnbull Stakes before finishing mid-field in both the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from superstar horse Kingston Town. The legend of the turf won three Cox Plates amongst many other Group 1s. It was originally run as the STC Cup in 1948, with Columnist claiming victory.

The Kingston Town Stakes has been been a solid form race, with the most recent example being Avilius. The gelding won in 2018 and has since become a multiple Group 1 winner.

In 2019 Finche won the race in 2:04.42 but that is not the fastest winning time the Kingston Town Stakes over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Stout Hearted, who in 2012 clocked 2:00.68 to claim victory.


2020 Kingston Town Stakes Field


Horse Win Place
1 Angel Of Truth (14)J: Tommy Berry 58kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $6.00 $2.25
2 Life Less Ordinary (5)J: Jason Collett 57kg T: C J Waller $16.00 $4.80
3 Danzdanzdance (12)J: Glyn Schofield 57kg T: C J Waller $41.00 $11.00
4 Brimham Rocks (11)J: Nash Rawiller 56.5kg T: C J Waller $16.00 $4.80
5 Wu Gok (18)J: Adam Hyeronimus 56kg T: C J Waller $14.00 $4.20
6 Taikomochi (6)J: Tim Clark 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $11.00 $3.50
7 Miss Sentimental (3)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 56kg T: C J Waller $51.00 $14.00
8 Mustajeer (21)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 55kg T: K A Lees $10.00 $3.30
9 Shared Ambition (16)J: James Mcdonald 55kg T: C J Waller $5.00 $2.00
10 Sikandarabad (17)J: Brenton Avdulla 55kg T: Sam Kavanagh $10.00 $3.30
11 Carif (19)J: Regan Bayliss 55kg T: P & P Snowden $21.00 $6.00
12 Sir Charles Road (4)J: Jim Byrne 55kg T: L O’sullivan & A Scott $91.00 $26.00
13 Paths Of Glory (9)J: Jean Van Overmeire 55kg T: R & M Freedman $19.00 $5.50
14 Zebrowski (10)J: Hugh Bowman 55kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $6.00 $2.25
15 Rondinella (7)J: Ms Rachel King 53kg T: J A O’shea $21.00 $6.00
16 Girl Tuesday (2)J: Glen Boss 53kg T: C E Conners $18.00 $5.50
17 Djukon (15)J: Sam Clipperton 55kg T: C J Waller $81.00 $21.00
18 Morton’s Fork (8)J: Robbie Dolan 55kg T: Richard Litt $101.00 $26.00
19 Masaff (13)J: Unknown 55kg T: C J Waller $51.00 $14.00
20 Kinane (1)J: Unknown 56kg T: C J Waller $8.50 $2.90
21 Think It Over (20)J: Jim Byrne 55kg T: K J Parker $17.00 $5.00



2019 – Finche (2:04.42)
2018 – Avilius (2:02.01)
2017 – Libran (2:02.76)
2016 – McCreery (2:03.80)
2015 – Silverball (2:02.98)
2014 – He’s Your Man (2:04.02)
2013 – Prince Cheri (2:03.47)
2012 – Stout Hearted (2:00.68)
2011 – Lamasery (2:02.50)
2010 – Herculean Prince (2:01.54)