Kevin Heffernan Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,300m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Probabeel Heading Home to NZ After Successful Spring


Star mare Probabeel is heading home to New Zealand after a successful spring campaign in Australia. The preparation came to an end after her gutsy performance in Saturday’s Cox Plate (2040m), where she worked hard t... Continue Reading

Ryan faces an anxious wait with Bottega Third Acceptances: 45 Remain in Quest for 2020 Melbourne Cup Maher hoping Anders ready for Coolmore 2020 Melbourne Cup Hopefuls Line up in Capacity 2020 Bendigo Cup Miami Bound Escapes 2020 Melbourne Cup Weight Penalty Read more Horse Racing news

The Kevin Heffernan Stakes is a 1300m Group 3 weight-for-age race held at Sandown Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a prize pool of $160,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14, the same day as the Sandown Guineas.

Teleplay scored an exciting win in the 2019 Kevin Heffernan Stakes, with Home Of The Brave and Hey Doc finishing second and third, both less than half a length behind. It was the second of back-to-back Group 3 victories for Teleplay, having saluted in the Jim Beam Black Stakes 11 days earlier.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from former racehorse owner and Victoria Amateur Turf Club and Melbourne Racing Club committee member, Kevin Heffernan. Sadly, Heffernan passed away in February of 2012.

Despite the Kevin Heffernan Stakes’ short history, some top-grade horses have won the race over the years. Lankan Rupee saluted in 2013 and a year later Fast ‘n’ Rocking crossed the line in first. Lucky Hussler won in 2016 and that was followed by a victory to Jungle Edge.

Teleplay ran 1:17.26 to cross the line first in the 2019 edition of the Kevin Heffernan Stakes. The fastest 1300m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Lucky Hussler, who clocked 1:16.43 back in 2016.


2019 – Teleplay (1:17.26)
2018 – Cool Passion (1:16.59)
2017 – Jungle Edge (1:17.49)
2016 – Lucky Hussler (1:16.43)
2015 – Famous Seamus (1:18.04)
2014 – Fast ‘n’ Rocking (1:17.67)
2013 – Lankan Rupee (1:09.70) (1200m)
2012 – Mid Summer Music (1:17.13)
2011 – Soul (1:18.97)
2010 – Avenue (1:19.26)