Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 25, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,040m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The JRA Cup is a Group 3 handicap race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse. The 2040m race has a total prize pool of $200,000 and in 2020 will be held on Friday, September 25.

In 2019 the JRA Cup was won by the Chris Waller-trained Captain Cook. With Linda Meech on board and carrying 54kg, Captain Cook managed to sneak its nose in front of Sully, with Mosh Music rounding out the placings. The JRA Cup is the most recent win in Australia for Captain Cook.

Despite originally being known as the Geoff Madden Handicap, the JRA Cup was renamed after the Japan Racing Association. In 1996 it became a listed race and from 2010 onwards it has been classed as a Group 3.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Section won the race in 1996 and since then some relatively well-known horses have won the JRA Cup, with El Segundo arguably being the best of the bunch. He won it 2005 and of course would go on to win the 2007 Cox Plate.

Since becoming a listed race, no horse has ever won the JRA Cup in consecutive years. Meanwhile, Ben Melham has had the best success as a jockey, having won the race on three separate occasions, with most racing being on The Taj Mahal in 2018.

Captain Cook clocked 2:06.45 to win the race in 2019, however the race record from the last 20 years belongs to Precedence. The Bart Cummings’-trained horse, Precedence, who recorded three Melbourne Cup top 10 finishes, won the race in 2010 in a fantastic time of 2:05.31.

JRA Cup Field

1Mirage Dancer (1)J: Mark Zahra 60.5kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$7.50$2.45
2Quick Thinker (7)J: Michael Dee 59.5kg T: M Baker & A Forsman$7.50$2.45
3Levendi (8)J: Jason Maskiell 58.5kg T: Peter Gelagotis$17.00$4.60
4Platinum Invador (11)J: Luke Nolen 57kg T: P G Moody$34.00$7.00
5Al Galayel (5)J: Ben Melham 56kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$3.40$1.50
6Miami Bound (3)J: Damien Oliver 56kg T: D T O’brien$12.00$3.60
7Plein Ciel (2)J: Billy Egan 55.5kg T: D T O’brien$6.50$2.30
8Mantastic (6)J: Craig Williams 55kg T: C J Waller$11.00$3.50
9Vin De Dance (9)J: William Pike 55kg T: Symon Wilde$17.00$4.60
10Mongolian Marshal (12)J: Unknown 55kg T: S P Gower$0.00$0.00
11Tavirun (10)J: Luke Currie 55kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$8.50$2.70
12Royal Crown (4)J: Jamie Kah 55kg T: M C Kent$18.00$4.80



2019 – Captain Cook (2:06.45)
2018 – The Taj Mahal (2:05.37)
2017 – Jon Snow (2:07.12)
2016 – Real Love (2:05.76)
2015 – Escado (2:05.88)
2014 – The Cleaner (2:05.99)
2013 – Mourinho (2:06.14)
2012 – Bianmick (2:06.66)
2011 – Dream Pedlar (2:08.71)
2010 – Precedence (2:05.31