Gloaming Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,800m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Gloaming Stakes is a 1800m Group 3 race held at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. The set weights race has a total prize pool of $200,000 and is for horses aged three and older. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, September 26, the same day as the Golden Rose.

In 2019 the Gloaming Stakes was won by Shadow Hero, who comfortably beat out Subedar and Quick Thinker. Shadow Hero then went on to win the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes before finishing fifth in the Victoria Derby.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run in 1978 and was won by Kapalaran. It is named after legendary horse Gloaming who famously won 19 races in a row. No horse has ever won the race in consecutive years, however, some great runners have claimed victory, including Kingston Town, Tie The Knot, So You Think and It’s A Dundeel.

Shadow Hero clocked 1:49.10 to win the Gloaming Stakes in 2019, which was an impressive time but not the fastest from the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Retrieve, who in 2010 ran 1:48.28. The 1800m Rosehill track record belongs to Intergaze who managed a 1:47.99 in 1997.

Gloaming Stakes Field

Horse Win Place
1 Achiever (5)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: C J Waller $6.50 $2.15
2 Easy Campese (6)J: Jeff Penza 56.5kg T: J G Sargent $10.00 $2.80
3 Love Tap (1)J: Nash Rawiller 56.5kg T: R & M Freedman $2.25 $1.28
4 Bucharest (2)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: C J Waller $10.00 $2.80
5 Cadenabbia (9)J: Hugh Bowman 56.5kg T: C J Waller $6.50 $2.15
6 Lion’s Roar (8)J: Tommy Berry 56.5kg T: J A O’shea $7.00 $2.25
7 Street Dancer (3)J: Regan Bayliss 56.5kg T: A J Cummings $17.00 $4.00
8 Bob (4)J: Joshua Parr 56.5kg T: Mark Newnham $18.00 $4.20
9 Sagrado (10)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56.5kg T: John Thompson $34.00 $6.00
10 Favreau (7)J: Sam Clipperton 56.5kg T: J G Sargent $26.00 $5.00



2019 – Shadow Hero (1:49.10)
2018 – Thinkin’ Big (1:50.28)
2017 – Ace High (1:50.82)
2016 – Veladero (1:50.24)
2015 – Vanbrugh (1:49.60)
2014 – Sweynesse (1:49.48)
2013 – Complacent (1:49.16)
2012 – Dundeel (1:50.56)
2011 – Strike The Stars (1:49.07)
2010 – Retrieve (1:48.28)