Gimcrack Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds

Caulfield 4 3 19564607 2031079 2020092413092090d44292 500f 4f9a 882f 24a836a7b37d 1.jpg sd 800x600 1

The fourth and final Group 1 at Flemington on a stacked Derby Day is the 2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes (1600m), attracting a capacity field of 16 plus four emergencies. Favourite Mr Quickie has drawn out in barrier 16, ... Continue Reading

2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Empire Rose Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds Vandyke: ‘Question Marks’ on Alligator Blood in Golden Eagle O'Brien ready for the unorthodox in Derby Santa Ana Lane Skipping Yes Yes Yes Stakes for VRC Sprint Classic Read more Horse Racing news

The Gimcrack Stakes is a 1000m Group 3 race for two-year-old fillies held at Randwick Racecourse. It has a total prize pool of $160,000 and is raced with set weights. In 2020, the race will be run on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Epsom Handicap, Metropolitan and Darley Flight Stakes.

Every Rose won the 2019 edition of the Gimcrack Stakes, with Stellar Pauline and Ticket To Ride running second and third. After the victory, Every Rose took no further part in the Spring Racing Carnival.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race is named after Gimcrack, who was a highly successful horse in the 1700s. Maltine won the first edition back in 1906, and since then a number of decent horses have claimed victory in the Gimcrack Stakes, with Wenona Girl being the most notable.

John O’Shea has had great success in recent years, winning the Gimcrack Stakes three straight times from 2014-2016. James McDonald rode the winner in two of those three victories.

In 2019, Every Rose ran 0:58.57 to win the Gimcrack Stakes, however, the fastest time of the last 20 years was actually recorded the year prior. Catch Me clocked 0:56.99 to win in 2018, beating Diddles and Mayaaseh.

2020 Gimcrack Stakes Field, Barriers, and Odds

Horse Win Place
1 Authentic Jewel (9)J: Hugh Bowman 56kg T: C J Waller $16.00 $3.60
2 Avaricious (3)J: Brenton Avdulla 56kg T: L W Curtis $17.00 $3.70
3 Emmy Vein (12)J: James Innes Jnr 56kg T: D Chujo $201.00 $26.00
4 Enthaar (8)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $1.75 $1.16
5 Euphrates Dream (2)J: Ashley Morgan 56kg T: Luke Hilton $201.00 $26.00
6 I Love Lucy (10)J: Nash Rawiller 56kg T: L W Curtis $26.00 $4.80
7 Lovemetender (5)J: Regan Bayliss 56kg T: A J Cummings $31.00 $5.50
8 Mallory (7)J: Jason Collett 56kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou $26.00 $4.80
9 Miss Hoff (11)J: Sam Clipperton 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $18.00 $3.80
10 Mistaken Identity (6)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 56kg T: Matthew Smith $126.00 $21.00
11 Tinge (1)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56kg T: James Cummings $16.00 $3.60
12 Total Babe (4)J: Tommy Berry 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $4.80 $1.55
13 Vaccine (13)J: Tim Clark 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $12.00 $2.90


Gimcrack Stakes Winners

2019 – Every Rose (0:58.57)
2018 – Catch Me (0:56.99)
2017 – Satin Slipper (0:58.03)
2016 – Jorda (0:57.53)
2015 – Calliope (0:57.61)
2014 – Calaverite (0:57.64)
2013 – Alpha Miss (0:57.77)
2012 – Brilliant Bisc (0:57.82)
2011 – Hussousa (0:58.42)
2010 – Defiant Dame (0:57.41)