Geelong Cup

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 21, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Geelong
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $400,000

The Geelong Cup is a 2400m Group 3 race held at Geelong Racecourse in Victoria. It has a total prize pool of $400,000 and the winner of the race is guaranteed a place in the Melbourne Cup. In 2020, the Geelong Cup will be run on Wednesday, October 21.

Prince Of Arran won the 2019 edition of the Geelong Cup, with True Self and Haky finishing second and third respectively. After winning the race, Prince Of Arran went on to finish second in the Melbourne Cup, less than half a length behind winner Vow And Declare.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Due to its close link with the Melbourne Cup, it’s worth noting those horses that have completed the Geelong Cup – Melbourne Cup double. Media Puzzle did it in 2002, while more recently we have seen Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011) achieve the feat.

As with many top races, Jockey Craig Williams has had some great success in the Geelong Cup over the years. He recorded four victories in a nine-year stretch between 2006 and 2014. No trainer has quite been able to establish consistent success in the race.

In 2019, Prince Of Arran clocked 2:26.84 to win the Geelong Cup, which was an impressive time but not the fastest the race has seen over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to the legendary Media Puzzle, who ran 2:25.92 back in 2002.

2020 Geelong Cup Field, Barriers & Odds

1San Huberto (1)J: Damien Oliver 59kg T: Matthew Cumani$9.00$2.70
2Ashrun (10)J: Craig Williams 58.5kg T: Andreas Wohler$3.70$1.55
3King Of Leogrance (3)J: Damian Lane 58kg T: D T O’brien$11.00$3.40
4Le Don De Vie (8)J: Ben Melham 58kg T: A & S Freedman$6.00$2.25
5Skyward (6)J: William Pike 58kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$4.80$1.85
6Shared Ambition (5)J: John Allen 57.5kg T: C J Waller$9.50$3.20
7Steel Prince (9)J: Jye Mcneil 57.5kg T: A & S Freedman$9.00$2.80
8Platinum Invador (11)J: Luke Nolen 57kg T: P G Moody$26.00$5.50
9Sound (7)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: M D Moroney$17.00$4.40
10Creedence (2)J: Michael Poy 55kg T: Matthew Cumani$26.00$5.50
11Entente (4)J: Brett Prebble 55kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$31.00$6.00



2019 – Prince Of Arran (2:26.84)
2018 – Runaway (2:28.46)
2017 – Vengeur Masque (2:29.35)
2016 – Qewy (2:28.98)
2015 – Almoonqith (2:28.90)
2014 – Caravan Rolls On (2:31.22)
2013 – Ibicenco (2:35.17)
2012 – Gatewood (2:34.10)
2011 – Dunaden (2:30.14)
2010 – Americain (2:30.35) (2406m)