Eclipse Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,800m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Eclipse Stakes is a 1800m Group 3 race held at Sandown Racecourse in Melbourne. The handicap has a $160,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14, the same day as the Zipping Classic.

The Lindsey Smith-trained Pacodali won the 2019 Eclipse Stakes, with Setting Sail and Exasperate placing second and third. After claiming the victory, Pacodali did not run again in 2019, however, in 2020 he raced in the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic, finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Eclipse Stakes was in 1937, with Balkan Prince crossing the line in first. Since then, the likes of Super Impose and Fields Of Omagh have won the race.

No trainer or jockey has quite been able to establish a stranglehold on the Eclipse Stakes over recent years, however, Bevan Laming did win the race in consecutive years in the 2000s. He trained Eskimo Dan who won in 2008 and then saluted with Bashful Girl in 2009.

Pacodali ran 1:51.56 to win the Eclipse Stakes in 2019, but the fastest 1800m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs Casino Dancer. In 2015, the Mike Van Getsel-trained runner clocked 1:48.05.


2019 – Pacodali (1:51.56)
2018 – Tally (1:51.22)
2017 – Payroll (1:51.45)
2016 – Turnitaround (1:51.26)
2015 – Casino Dancer (1:48.05)
2014 – Zabisco (1:49.67)
2013 – Mouro (1:50.36)
2012 – Eclair Surprise (1:49.62)
2011 – Rothera (1:52.18)
2010 – Viking Hero (1:55.21)