Chatham Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 7, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The Chatham Stakes is a 1400m Group 3 race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. The handicap has a $200,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 7, which is the same day as the Mackinnon Stakes.

The 2019 edition of the Chatham Stakes was won by the Lindsey Smith-trained galloper, Reykjavik. Admiral’s Joker and Noble boy finished second and third respectively, both less than half a length behind the winner. Reykjavik went on to race in the Group 1 Railway Stakes but finished towards the back of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Chatham Stakes was back in 1978, with Sarsha’s Choice crossing the line first. Since then some strong horses have won the race, including Fawkner, Hellova Street and 2014 Cantala Stakes winner Hucklebuck.

The race takes its name from two-time Cox Plate winner, Chatham. The legendary stallion also won the Epsom Handicap twice and in 2005 was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

Reykjavik won the 2019 Chatham Stakes in 1:23.22, a time that fell well short of the 1400m Flemington track record. That belongs to Lovey, who ran 1:20.60 in December of 1992.


2019 – Reykjavik
2018 – Dreamforce
2017 – Hellova Street
2016 – Rageese
2015 – Disposition
2014 – Hucklebuck
2013 – Smokin’ Joey
2012 – Fawkner
2011 – Woorim
2010 – Poor Judge