Caulfield Guineas Prelude

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $175,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude is a 1400m race for three-year-old colts and geldings that is held at Caulfield Racecourse. In 2020, the $200,000 set weights plus penalties race will be held on Saturday, September 26.

In 2019, superstar Alligator Blood won the Caulfield Guineas Prelude, beating out Dalasan and Groundswell who finished second and third. Alligator Blood went on to finish second behind Super Seth in the Caulfield Guineas, however in 2020 claimed his first Group 1 win, taking out the Australian Guineas.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude was first run in 1985 as the Show Day Stakes and was won by Brequillo. As of 2000 it has been called the Caulfield Guineas Prelude and takes place two weeks before the Caulfield Guineas itself. Some great horses have claimed victory in the race, including Apache Cat and Wonderful World. No horse has ever won the Caulfield Guineas Prelude in consecutive years.

Helmet was the last runner to win both the Caulfield Guineas Prelude and the Caulfield Guineas in the same year, doing so back in 2011. Anacheeva managed the same feat a year prior in 2010.

2019 winner Alligator Blood won the race in 1:23.49, however it wasn’t the fastest Caulfield Guineas prelude time of the last 20 years. That belongs to 2011 winner Helmet, who clocked 1:21.40 in his win. That time wasn’t far off the Caulfield 1400m track record, which is Exceed and Excel’s 1:21.20.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Field

Horse Win Place
1 Prague (13)J: John Allen 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $6.50 $2.40
2 Cherry Tortoni (3)J: Billy Egan 56kg T: Patrick Payne $9.00 $3.00
3 Crosshaven (9)J: Daniel Stackhouse 56kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes $9.00 $3.00
4 Flying Award (10)J: Damien Oliver 56kg T: D T O’brien $5.50 $2.15
5 Amish Boy (8)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $19.00 $5.00
6 Bartley (7)J: Damian Lane 55kg T: P & P Snowden $9.50 $3.10
7 Alcyone (1)J: William Pike 55kg T: James Cummings $51.00 $10.00
8 Aysar (12)J: Luke Nolen 55kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes $8.00 $2.70
9 Savannah Cloud (4)J: Luke Currie 55kg T: P Stokes $10.00 $3.30
10 Cambourne (11)J: Michael Dee 55kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $5.50 $2.15
11 Hickok (6)J: Jake Noonan 55kg T: A W Noonan $19.00 $5.00
12 National Choice (5)J: Craig Newitt 55kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $34.00 $7.00
13 Captain Corelli (2)J: Ben Melham 55kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $31.00 $6.50



2019 – Alligator Blood (1:23.49)
2018 – Native Soldier (1:23.36)
2017 – Perast (1:23.47)
2016 – Sacred Elixir (1:24.70)
2015 – Bon Aurum (1:22.67)
2014 – Rich Enuff (1:23.49)
2013 – Eclair Big Bang (1:23.38)
2012 – Epaulette (1:24.26)
2011 – Helmet (1:21.40)
2010 – Anacheeva (1:23.16)