Caulfield Classic

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $250,000


Probabeel Heading Home to NZ After Successful Spring


Star mare Probabeel is heading home to New Zealand after a successful spring campaign in Australia. The preparation came to an end after her gutsy performance in Saturday’s Cox Plate (2040m), where she worked hard t... Continue Reading

Ryan faces an anxious wait with Bottega Third Acceptances: 45 Remain in Quest for 2020 Melbourne Cup Maher hoping Anders ready for Coolmore 2020 Melbourne Cup Hopefuls Line up in Capacity 2020 Bendigo Cup Miami Bound Escapes 2020 Melbourne Cup Weight Penalty Read more Horse Racing news

The Caulfield Classic, also known as the Norman Robinson Stakes, is a 2000m Group 3 race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is for three-year-old, is raced with set weights and has a total prize pool of $250,000. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 17, the same day as the Caulfield Cup.

Thought Of That won the 2019 edition of the Caulfield Classic for the Ciaron Maher and David Eustace stable. Martin Harley finished second onboard Warning, while Brilliant Venture placed third. After the victory, Thought Of That went on to race in the Group 1 Victoria Derby, finishing 10th from 15 runners. It’s worth noting that Warning claimed victory in the Derby, beating out Southern Moon and Soul Patch.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Over the years the Caulfield Classic has proven to be a great form race for the Victoria Derby. As mentioned, runner-up Warning went on to win the Group 1 in 2019, while Extra Brut placed sixth in the Caulfield Classic before winning the Derby in 2018. Polanksi completed the Caulfield Classic – Victoria Derby double in 2013.

No trainer or jockey has really been able to establish consistent success in the Caulfield Classic, although Damien Oliver did have a decent run. The champion jockey won the race three times between 2001 and 2011.

In 2019, Thought Of That clocked 2:02.88 to win the Caulfield Classic. Although it was a decent time, the fastest the race has seen over the last 20 years belongs to Royale Exit, who in 2000 ran 2:01.26 to claim victory.

2020 Caulfield Classic Field

Horse Win Place
1 Celestial Sol (1)J: Craig Williams 57kg T: C J Waller $15.00 $4.20
2 Albarado (10)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $5.50 $2.15
3 The Pres (12)J: Hugh Bowman 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $10.00 $3.30
4 Johnny Get Angry (2)J: Lachlan King 57kg T: Denis Pagan $17.00 $4.80
5 Cetshwayo (6)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: D T O’brien $6.00 $2.25
6 Trodaire (7)J: Craig Newitt 57kg T: Lloyd Kennewell $17.00 $4.80
7 El Santo (9)J: Billy Egan 57kg T: Dan O’sullivan $41.00 $8.00
8 Redwood Shadow (13)J: Jye Mcneil 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $9.00 $3.00
9 Hit The Shot (8)J: Fred W Kersley 57kg T: Matthew Cumani $8.50 $2.80
10 Let’s Karaka Deel (11)J: John Allen 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $4.40 $1.85
11 Tour Of Duty (4)J: Michael Dee 57kg T: M D Moroney $13.00 $3.80
12 Mr Roger (5)J: Luke Currie 57kg T: Richard Laming $41.00 $8.00
13 Token Spirit (3)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: R D Griffiths $34.00 $7.00


2019 – Thought Of That (2:02.88)
2018 – Thinkin’ Big (2:06.79)
2017 – Cliff’s Edge (2:02.48)
2016 – Good Standing (2:04.37)
2015 – Sacred Eye (2:03.20)
2014 – Fontein Ruby (2:03.82)
2013 – Polanski (2:02.50)
2012 – Hvasstan (2:03.82)
2011 – Sabrage (2:03.00)
2010 – Retrieve (2:08.38)