Carbine Club Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 31, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Carbine Club Stakes is a 1600m Group 3 race for three-year-olds that is held at Flemington Racecourse. It has a prize pool of $250,000 and is run with set weights plus penalties. In 2020, the race will be run on Saturday, October 31, the same day as the Victoria Derby.

Hugh Bowman rode Dalasan to victory in the 2019 edition of the Carbine Club Stakes, with Brandenburg and Groundswell finishing second and third respectively. Dalasan took no further part in the spring but in 2020 ran in the Australian Guineas and All-Star Mile, finishing mid-field in both races.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Champion FIlly Emancipation won the first edition of the Carbine Club Stakes in 1982. Since then the likes of Saintly and Comin’ Through have claimed victory in the race.

Peter Snowden had a great run in the Carbine Club Stakes, training the winner three times between 2009 and 2013. The first of the three runners was Kidnapped, who was followed by Galah and Paximadia.

The fastest time in the race over the last 21 years belongs to Over, who ran 1:35.09 in 1999. 2019 winner Dalasan clocked 1:38.05 in his victory.

2020 Carbine Club Stakes Field, Barriers and Odds

1Crosshaven (6)J: Daniel Stackhouse 58.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$4.50$1.40
2Endanger (7)J: Jye Mcneil 58kg T: A & S Freedman$5.00$1.45
3Aysar (2)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$2.10$1.16
4Embolism (4)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien$6.00$1.65
5Just A Tribute (1)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: J P Salanitri$51.00$8.00
6Fender Bender (5)J: Dean Holland 57kg T: J P Salanitri$34.00$5.50
7So Let’s Toast (8)J: Jamie Mott 57kg T: John Mcardle$15.00$3.30
8Horrifying (3)J: James Mcdonald 57kg T: M A Kavanagh$61.00$9.00



2019 – Dalasan (1:38.05)
2018 – Ranier (1:36.33)
2017 – Levendi (1:35.35)
2016 – Comin’ Through (1:35.14)
2015 – Mahuta (1:37.84)
2014 – Kermadec (1:37.29)
2013 – Paximadia (1:38.03)
2012 – Lunar Rise (1:35.30)
2011 – Galah (1:37.84)
2010 – Mr Chard (1:36.00)