Cameron Handicap

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 18, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Newcastle
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Cameron Handicap is Group 3 1500m race held at Newcastle Racecourse. It has a prize pool of $160,000 and in 2020 will be held on Friday, September 18, the same day as the Newcastle Gold Cup and Tibbie Stakes.

Rock won the 2019 edition of the Cameron Handicap, beating Articus and Nettoyer who finished second and third. The Chris Waller-trained Kaonic made up the first four. Later in the spring, Rock raced in both the Epsom Handicap and the Kennedy Cantala but failed to place in either.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run in 1977 and takes its name from Jame George Cameron, an iconic figure in Newcastle racing. Before 2005 it was classed as a Listed race, however, from 2005 onwards it has been a Group 3.

The first winner of the Cameron Handicap was Luskin Star, who is also one of few horses who have won the two-year-old triple crown. That means in the same year he won the Golden Slipper, the AJC Sires Produce Stakes and the Champagne Stakes.

In 2019, Rock clocked 1:29.46 to win the race, however, the fastest 1500m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Toydini. He recorded 1:29.10 to win the 2013 edition of the Cameron Handicap.


2019 – Rock (1:29.46)
2018 – New Tipperary (1:29.88)
2017 – Got Unders (1:29.51)
2016 – Chetwood (1:18.35) (1350m)
2015 – Forget (1:29.64)
2014 – Hooked (1:32.27)
2013 – Toydini (1:29.10)
2012 – Rolling Pink (1:29.16)
2011 – Raspberries (1:29.61)
2010 – Kenny’s World (1:15.39) (1300m)