Bill Ritchie Handicap

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Probabeel Heading Home to NZ After Successful Spring


Star mare Probabeel is heading home to New Zealand after a successful spring campaign in Australia. The preparation came to an end after her gutsy performance in Saturday’s Cox Plate (2040m), where she worked hard t... Continue Reading

Ryan faces an anxious wait with Bottega Third Acceptances: 45 Remain in Quest for 2020 Melbourne Cup Maher hoping Anders ready for Coolmore 2020 Melbourne Cup Hopefuls Line up in Capacity 2020 Bendigo Cup Miami Bound Escapes 2020 Melbourne Cup Weight Penalty Read more Horse Racing news

The Bill Ritchie Handicap is a Group 3 1400m race held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. It is raced under quality handicap conditions and is for horses aged three and older. The prize pool for the race is $160,000 and in 2020 it will be run on Saturday, September 19.

Kolding won the 2019 edition of the Bill Ritchie Handicap, with Fierce Impact and Desert Lord finishing second and third. He would then go on to win the Group 1 Epsom Handicap and the $7.5 million Golden Eagle. It proved to be a great form race as Fierce Impact went on to win two Group 1s in the spring, the Toorak Handicap and the Kennedy Cantala.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from racehorse owner and breeder Bill Ritchie. It was first won by Go Mod in 1978 and since then some notable horses have won the race, including Manawanui and one of the world’s biggest racehorses, Holy Roller.

Chris Waller has had great success in the Bill Ritchie Handicap over the years, training four of the last seven winners. That run includes 2019 winner Kolding.

The fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Gai Waterhouse’s Flaming, who clocked a 1:21.72 in 2005. 2019 winner Kolding ran 1:22.99 to win the most recent edition of the race.


2020 Bill Ritchie Handicap Field

Horse Win Place
1 Le Romain (7)J: Hugh Bowman 59.5kg T: K A Lees $34.00 $6.50
2 Brandenburg (1)J: Nash Rawiller 58.5kg T: J G Sargent $9.50 $3.10
3 Quackerjack (2)J: Joshua Parr 58kg T: Mark Newnham $9.00 $3.00
4 The Candy Man (3)J: Tim Clark 58kg T: P & P Snowden $8.50 $2.90
5 Probabeel (4)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 57kg T: J W Richards $3.90 $1.70
6 Chief Ironside (11)J: Regan Bayliss 57kg T: K A Lees $34.00 $6.50
7 Reloaded (10)J: James Mcdonald 55.5kg T: C J Waller $4.20 $1.80
8 Roheryn (12)J: Jason Collett 55kg T: James Cummings $7.00 $2.45
9 Glenall (9)J: Brock Ryan 54.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $21.00 $5.50
10 Kubrick (8)J: Brenton Avdulla 54kg T: C J Waller $34.00 $6.50
11 Dadoozdart (5)J: Tommy Berry 54kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $126.00 $26.00
12 Cuba (6)J: Ms Rachel King 53kg T: John Thompson $12.00 $3.70
13 Nudge (13)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 53kg T: C J Waller $17.00 $4.80



2019 – Kolding (1:22.99)
2018 – Siege Of Quebec (1:21.56)
2017 – Comin’ Through (1:21.67)
2016 – Sons Of John (1:22.73)
2015 – Sadler’s Lake (1:24.79)
2014 – Manawanui (1:21.75)
2013 – Boban (1:21.83)
2012 – Steps In Time (1:23.15)
2011 – Thankgodyou’rehere (1:22.22)
2010 – Drumbeats (1:22.87)