Bendigo Cup

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 28, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Bendigo
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $400,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Bendigo Cup is a Group 3 2400m race held at Bendigo Racecourse in Victoria. The handicap has a $400,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Wednesday, October 28.

Cult hero William Pike won the 2019 edition of the Bendigo Cup onboard Top Of The Range. Brimham Rocks finished second, with Hang Man placing third. Top Of The Range then went on to run fifth in the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Bendigo Cup was in 1946, with Skyway claiming victory. The race has been run over a variety of different distances over the years, but as of 2011, it has settled on 2400m.

The combination of trainer Charlie Appleby and jockey Kerrin McEvoy has had great success in the Bendigo Cup over recent times, saluting twice in the last four years. The first victory was with Francis Of Assisi and it was followed by a win with gelding Qewy.

Top Of The Range ran 2:27.41 to win the 2019 edition of the Bendigo Cup, and it was the fastest 2400m time the race has seen over the last 20 years. It edged out Qewy’s 2:27.50 (2017) and Puissance De Lune’s 2:27.92 (2012).

2020 Bendigo Cup Field, Odds, and Barriers

1Haky (8)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: Archie Alexander$21.00$5.50
2Lord Belvedere (3)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$5.00$2.00
3Pondus (18)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: Joseph O’brien$4.80$1.95
4Inverloch (2)J: Michael Dee 56.5kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$13.00$3.90
5Azuro (4)J: Luke Currie 56kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$61.00$13.00
6Zebrowski (13)J: William Pike 56kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$5.00$2.00
7Furrion (6)J: John Allen 55.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$20.00$5.50
8Princess Jenni (11)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: D R Brideoake$20.00$5.50
9Silent Command (17)J: Will Price 55kg T: Nick Smart$126.00$26.00
10Midterm (1)J: Patrick Moloney 55kg T: M & L Cerchi$51.00$10.00
11Good Idea (12)J: Michael Poy 55kg T: P Stokes$17.00$5.00
12Masaff (16)J: Michael Walker 55kg T: C J Waller$17.00$5.00
13Saracen Knight (7)J: Damien Oliver 55kg T: D T O’brien$6.50$2.40
14Super Girl (15)J: Jordan Childs 55kg T: Joshua Julius$21.00$5.50
15Jack Regan (9)J: Zac Spain 55kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$71.00$17.00
16Realm Of Flowers (5)J: Billy Egan 55kg T: A & S Freedman$26.00$6.00
17Red Alto (10)J: Unknown 55kg T: Brent Stanley$126.00$26.00
18Lofty Heights (14)J: Harry Coffey 55kg T: Julius Sandhu$126.00$26.00



2019 – Top Of The Range (2:27.41)
2018 – Red Alto (2:28.51)
2017 – Qewy (2:27.50)
2016 – Francis Of Assisi (2:28.36)
2015 – The Offer (2:28.51)
2014 – Bring Something (2:29.43)
2013 – Sertorius (2:30.79)
2012 – Puissance De Lune (2:27.97)
2011 – Tanby (2:28.72)
2010 – Dream Pedlar (2:18.22) (2200m