Angst Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000

The Angst Stakes is a 1600m Group 3 race held at Randwick Racecourse. It is for mares aged four and older and has set weights and penalties. The total prize pool for the race is $160,000 and in 2020 it will be run on Saturday, October 10, the same day as the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes.

In 2019, Nettoyer just edged out Delectation Girl to win the Angst Stakes. Amangiri finished third, while Organza rounded out the first four. Later in the spring, Nettoyer finished mid-field in the Empire Rose Stakes and in 2020 she won the Group 1 Doncaster Mile.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Sky Watch won the first edition of the Angst Stakes in 1994 but back then it was known as the Angst Mares Quality Handicap. The race takes its name from star filly Angst, who won the 1993 Flight Stakes.

Only one horse has won the Angst Stakes more than once, with Dixie Blossoms claiming victory in consecutive years. The mare crossed the line first in both 2016 and 2017 and eventually would go on to win the Coolmore Classic.

The race was originally run over 1400m and in 2012 covered 1500m. However, as of 2013, the Angst Stakes has been a 1600m race. In that time, Nettoyer has clocked the fastest winning time, recording 1:33.15 in 2019. It just edged out Casino Dancer, who ran the Randwick 1600m in 1:33.22 in 2015.

2020 Angst Stakes Field

1Shout The Bar (14)J: Tim Clark 59kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$9.50$3.10
2Positive Peace (11)J: Joshua Parr 57kg T: Bjorn Baker$8.00$2.80
3Asiago (6)J: Ms Rachel King 56.5kg T: James Cummings$9.50$3.10
4Greysful Glamour (10)J: Nash Rawiller 56kg T: Mark Newnham$13.00$4.00
5All Saints’ Eve (15)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: J A O’shea$6.00$2.25
6Missybeel (16)J: Ryan Maloney 56kg T: Bjorn Baker$41.00$9.50
7Akari (17)J: Unknown 55.5kg T: Brad Widdup$0.00$0.00
8Savacool (1)J: Brenton Avdulla 55kg T: C J Waller$14.00$4.20
9Emeralds (5)J: Jason Collett 54kg T: J G Sargent$7.50$2.60
10Scarlet Dream (2)J: Tommy Berry 54kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$12.00$3.80
11Yamazaki (12)J: Robbie Dolan 54kg T: David Pfieffer$26.00$6.50
12House Of Cartier (3)J: Sam Clipperton 54kg T: J G Sargent$67.00$18.00
13Nudge (7)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 54kg T: C J Waller$11.00$3.50
14Rocha Clock (8)J: Glen Boss 54kg T: J A O’shea$20.00$6.00
15Nimalee (9)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 54kg T: Matthew Smith$13.00$4.00
16Air To Air (4)J: Regan Bayliss 54kg T: J C Coyle$26.00$6.50
17Vegas Jewel (18)J: Unknown 54kg T: C J Waller$19.00$5.50
18Icebath (13)J: Unknown 54kg T: Brad Widdup$14.00$4.20



2019 – Nettoyer (1:33.15)
2018 – I Am Serious (1:37.29)
2017 – Dixie Blossoms (1:34.54)
2016 – Dixie Blossoms (1:34.01)
2015 – Casino Dancer (1:33.15)
2014 – Neena Rock (1:33.22)
2013 – Sharnee Rose (1:34.46)
2012 – Nocturnelle (1:31.51) (1500m)
2011 – Little Surfer Girl (1:24.77) (1400m)
2010 – Lovemelikearock (1:22.78) (1400m)