Tramway Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Tramway Stakes is a Group 2 1400m race held at Randwick Racecourse. It is a race for horses aged three years and older and has set weights plus penalties. The prize pool for the Tramway Stakes is $200,000 and in 2020 it will be held on Saturday, September 5.

Dreamforce pulled off a super impressive win in the Tramway Stakes in 2019, beating Te Akau Shark by three lengths. The Chris Waller-trained Eckstein rounded out the placings finishing third. After winning the Tramway Stakes, Dreamforce competed in both the George Main Stakes and the Epsom Handicap. In early 2020 he won the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race has a rich history and was first run back in 1886, with Burrilda coming out victorious. Since then a number of top-class horses have won the Tramway Stakes, including Lough Neagh, Imposing, and more recently, Happy Clapper.

The first runner to ever claim consecutive victories in the Tramway Stakes was Gigandra, who won in 1912 and 1913. Only Grenoble (‘59 & ‘60) has been able to replicate the impressive feat.

In 2019 Dreamforce ran a solid 1:21.69 to win the Tramway Stakes. However, the fastest 1400m winning time in the race in the past 20 years belongs to Steve Englebrecht’s Malavio. He ran 1:21.37 in 2013 with Nathan Berry on board.


2019 – Dreamforce (1:21.69)
2018 – Comin’ Through (1:22.17)
2017 – Happy Clapper (1:21.97)
2016 – Hauraki (1:25.93)
2015 – Hooked (1:24.49)
2014 – Lucia Valentina (1:26.63)
2013 – Malavio (1:21.37)
2012 – Tagus (1:22.53)
2011 – Sincero (1:22.23)
2010 – Neeson (1:26.11)