Thousand Guineas Prelude

The Thousand Guineas Prelude is a Group 2 1400m race for three-year-old fillies. The race takes places at Caulfield Racecourse and has a prize pool $200,000. It is raced with set weights plus penalties. In 2020 it will be run on Saturday, September 26.

Tommy Berry steered Acting to victory in the Thousand Guineas Prelude in 2019, with Southbank and Barbie’s Fox making up the placings. Acting went onto finish fifth in the Thousand Guineas before finishing up for the spring

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The thousand Guineas Prelude was first run as the Health Stakes back in 1983, a race which was won by My Marseillaise. At that stage, it was a listed race, before being classed as a Group 3 in 2000. From 2013 onwards it has been run as a Group 2. A number of well-known horses have claimed victory in the Thousand Guineas Prelude, including Miss Finland, Ortensia and more recently Booker.

No horse has ever won the Thousand Guineas Prelude in consecutive years but in recent years trainer David Hayes has had great success in the race. Over the last 20 years, Hayes has trained four winners of the Thousand Guineas Prelude.

Acting claimed victory in the race in 2019 with a time of 1:23.94, which was over a second slower than 2018 winner Smart Melody who ran a 1:22.73. The fastest time in the race over the last 21 years belongs to 1999 winner Miss Pennymoney, who clocked 1:22.58 in her victory.

Thousand Guineas Prelude Field

1Letzbeglam (5)J: Michael Dee 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$12.00$3.60
2Ecumenical (11)J: John Allen 57kg T: R W Huxtable$41.00$7.50
3River Night (6)J: Damian Lane 56kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$34.00$6.50
4Instant Celebrity (8)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: P Stokes$3.30$1.45
5Night Raid (4)J: Mark Zahra 56kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$4.00$1.65
6Personal (1)J: Damien Oliver 55kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$7.00$2.40
7Rock My Wand (7)J: Luke Currie 55kg T: Matthew Smith$17.00$4.50
8Mozzie Monster (2)J: Jamie Kah 55kg T: J D Sadler$6.00$2.25
9Love Sensation (9)J: Luke Nolen 55kg T: K L Corstens$41.00$7.50
10Yosemite (12)J: William Pike 55kg T: R D Griffiths$20.00$5.00
11Annavisto (10)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$14.00$3.90
12Jenni’s Rainbow (3)J: Ben Melham 55kg T: D R Brideoake$21.00$5.00



2019 – Acting (1:23.94)
2018 – Smart Melody (1:22.73)
2017 – Booker (1:23.42)
2016 – Legless Veuve (1:25.20)
2015 – Miss Gunpowder (1:23.27)
2014 – Afleet Esprit (1:24.54)
2013 – Gregers (1:29.54)
2012 – Lady of Harrods (1:24.98)
2011 – Bliss Street (1:24.48)
2010 – Divorces (1:24.26)