Theo Marks Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 12, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,300m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Theo Marks Stakes is a $200,000 Group 2 race run at Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales. The 1300m handicap race is for horses aged three and older and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, September 12.

Arcadia Queen won the 2019 Theo Marks Stakes ahead of Trope and the Kris Lees’-trained Gem Song. It was a great result for punters, as Arcadia Queen was heavily backed and had a starting price of $1.95. She then went on to compete in The Everest and the Golden Eagle, however, failed to place in either race.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Theo Marks Stakes was back in 1946 and the race was won by Shannon. Between 2010 and 2013 the race was called the Sebring Sprint after the Golden Slipper. However, in 2014 it was once again named after Theodore Marks, a former chairman of the Rosehill Racing Club.

Some of the big-name horses to win the Theo Marks Stakes include three-time Group 1 winner Shogun Lodge, More Joyous and the legendary Winx. The mighty mare claimed victory in 2015, beating out Sons of John and Ninth Legion in a tight race.

Theo Marks Stakes Field

NoLast 10HorseTrainerJockeyBarrierWeightHcp Rating
16436x7751xTYZONEToby & Trent EdmondsJim Byrne358.5kg109
21412x23226NICCANOVACraig CarmodyRegan Bayliss157.5kg107
31x56x211x3SPECIAL REWARDKris LeesNash Rawiller657kg106
404210x115xRANIERJames CummingsJason Collett856kg104
5211x2142x6FUNSTARChris WallerJames McDonald555kg106
6231x7410x8WILD PLANETMichael, Wayne & John HawkesTommy Berry454kg98
711012x043xCRACK ON CRACK ON (GB)Gary & John MooreGlen Boss1054kg96
8111x1FENDERBrett CavanoughJean Van Overmeire (a)1154kg73
921850x686xDUCA VALENTINOIS (IRE)James CummingsMs Rachel King253.5kg99
101515x08014SIGNORE FOXPeter & Paul SnowdenJeff Penza753kg98
111x11123xRIODINI (NZ)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian BottTim Clark953kg96

Arcadia Queen clocked 1:14.96 in her 2019 Theo Marks Stakes victory, which was less than a tenth of a second off the best 1300m time in the race over the past 20 years. That record is Deploy’s, who in 2017 ran a 1:14.92.


2019 – Arcadia Queen (1:14.96)
2018 – Home of the Brave (1:19.34)
2017 – Deploy (1:14.92)
2016 – Mackintosh (1:17.11)
2015 – Winx (1:15.77)
2014 – Cluster (1:23.34) (1400m)
2013 – Riva De Lago (1:21.67) (1400m)
2012 – Ambidexter (1:22.29) (1400m)
2011 – Master of Design (1:16.79)
2010 – More Joyous (1:22.16) (1400m)