Tea Rose Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Tea Rose Stakes is a Group 2 1400m race for three-year-old fillies that is held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. It is run with set weights and has a total prize pool of $200,000. In 2020 it will be raced on Saturday, September 19, the same day as the Group 1 George Main Stakes.

Chris Waller’s Funstar won the 2019 edition of the Tea Rose Stakes in a thrilling race. She knocked over Probabeel and Libertini by less than half a length, claiming the majority of the prize money. From there, Funstar went on to win the Group 1 Flight Stakes, once again beating Probabeel.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Dark Eclipse won the very first Tea Rose Stakes, which was raced back in 1980. A number of top-class horses have since won the race, including Sunline, Samantha Miss, More Joyous, and more recently, Alizee.

No horse has ever won the race in consecutive years but jockey Hugh Bowman has had great success in the race in recent times, winning six of the last 15 runnings of the Tea Rose Stakes.

Funstar ran 1:23.04 to win in 2019, however since the Tea Rose Stakes changed to 1400m in 2013, there has been a number of faster times. Guelph clocked 1:22.10 back in 2013, meanwhile, First Seal (1:22.83), Alizee (1:22.58) and Miss Fabulass (1:22.93) all managed to go sub-1:23:00 when they claimed their victories.

Tea Rose Stakes Field:

Horse Win Place
1 Dame Giselle (5)J: Tommy Berry 56kg T: P & P Snowden $3.10 $1.30
2 Stellar Pauline (7)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56kg T: P & P Snowden $34.00 $5.50
3 Hungry Heart (3)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: C J Waller $1.95 $1.18
4 Every Rose (1)J: Ms Rachel King 56kg T: Mark Newnham $26.00 $4.80
5 Thermosphere (11)J: Nash Rawiller 56kg T: James Cummings $18.00 $3.80
6 Vangelic (2)J: Tim Clark 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $19.00 $3.90
7 Centimental (12)J: Sam Clipperton 56kg T: C J Waller $41.00 $6.00
8 Montefilia (6)J: Hugh Bowman 56kg T: David Payne $9.00 $2.35
9 Miss Canada (9)J: Brenton Avdulla 56kg T: K A Lees $26.00 $4.80
10 Miravalle (8)J: Joshua Parr 56kg T: Mark Newnham $31.00 $5.50
11 Fall On A Star (4)J: Jason Collett 56kg T: K A Lees $71.00 $10.00
12 True Faith (10)J: Jim Byrne 56kg T: K A Lees $71.00 $10.00




2019 – Funstar (1:23.04)
2018 – Miss Fabulass (1:22.93)
2017 – Alizee (1:22.58)
2016 – Foxplay (1:23.99)
2015 – Pearls (1:24.44)
2014 – First Seal (1:22.83)
2013 – Guelph (1:22.10)
2012 – Longport (1:29.33) (1500m)
2011 – Streama (1:30.31) (1500m)
2010 – More Strawberries (1:29.72) (1500m)