Stutt Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 25, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Stutt Stakes is a 1600m Group 2 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse. The prize pool is $200,000 and the race is set weights for three-year-olds. In 2020, the Stutt Stakes will be held on Friday, September 25, which is the same night as the Group 1 Moir Stakes.

The 2019 Stutt Stakes was won by Trent Busuttin and Natalie Young’’s The Holy One, who managed to just knock over Vegas Knight in what was an exciting finish. Conqueror, with Luke Nolen on board, rounded out the placings. The Holy One didn’t take any further part in the spring but did compete in the Group 1 Randwick Guineas in early 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Stutt Stakes was first run in 1934 as the Moonee Valley Stakes, however from 1990 onwards, it renamed in honour of a former chairman of the Moonee Valley Racing Club, Bill Stutt. Titanium was the first winner of the Stutt Stakes and since then the likes of Storm Queen, Red Anchor, Whobegotyou and Pierro have all won the race.

The fastest Stutt Stakes from the last 20 years was in 2007, when Barbaricus won in an impressive 1:36.03. The Holy One clocked 1:37.31 last year to win the race, while the course record over 1600m belongs to Lubicon (1:34.42).

Stutt Stakes Field

Horse Win Place
1 Glenfiddich (3)J: Luke Nolen 57kg T: P G Moody $3.90 $1.45
2 Holyfield (4)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $3.40 $1.40
3 Lunar Fox (2)J: Brett Prebble 57kg T: P A Preusker $15.00 $3.70
4 Cherry Tortoni (7)J: Billy Egan 57kg T: Patrick Payne $4.80 $1.65
5 Flying Award (1)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien $4.00 $1.45
6 Alcyone (8)J: John Allen 57kg T: James Cummings $26.00 $5.50
7 Crown Mint (5)J: Craig Williams 57kg T: G V Richards $14.00 $3.60
8 Ironedge (6)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $18.00 $4.20




2019 – The Holy One (1:37.31)
2018 – Leonardo Da Hinchi (1:37.51)
2017 – Showtime (1:37.14)
2016 – Hey Doc (1:37.41)
2015 – Sovereign Nation (1:36.17)
2014 – Almalad (1:38.83)
2013 – Divine Calling (1:37.29)
2012 – Pierro (1:36.31)
|2011 – Chase The Rainbow (1:38.31)
2010 – Hollowlea (1:37.29)