Stan Fox Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $250,000

The Stan Fox Stakes is a $250,000 set weights race which is held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. In 2020, the 1500m race for horses aged three will be run on Saturday, October 10, the same day at the Spring Champion Stakes.

Colada was sensational in the 2019 edition of the Stan Fox Stakes, beating the second place Brandenburg by two lengths. Bottega finished third, while Rock Amore rounded out the first four. Colada went on to place in the $1 million Bondi Stakes, finishing behind Kubrick and Pancho.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Hydahban won the first edition of the Stan Fox Stakes in 1975. Back then it was classed as a “Principal race”, however, from 1996 onwards it has been rated as a Group 2. The race has also spent time at both Warwick Farm and Rosehill Racecourse, but it returned to Randwick in 2019.

Some great horses have won the race including 1995 Cox Plate winner Octagonal, two-time Caulfield Stakes winner Lonhro and more recently Stradbroke Handicap winner Impending. Jockey James McDonald has had great success in the race over recent years, winning it on board Tarka in 2018 and Impending in 2016.

In 2019, Colada set the 1500m Randwick track record with a stunning 1:27.43. The next best 1500m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Gold Standard, who clocked 1:28.46 in 2017.

2020 Stan Fox Stakes Field

1Mamaragan (5)J: Ms Rachel King 56.5kg T: John Thompson$4.00$2.00
2Peltzer (2)J: Tim Clark 56.5kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$3.30$1.75
3Prime Star (7)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56.5kg T: R & M Freedman$5.50$2.50
4Global Quest (1)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: C J Waller$7.50$3.20
5Jet Propulsion (4)J: Tommy Berry 56.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$4.50$2.15
6Acrophobic (6)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: J A O’shea$11.00$4.40
7Sammy (3)J: Nash Rawiller 56.5kg T: K A Lees$51.00$18.00



2019 – Colada (1:27.43)
2018 – Tarka (1:33.82)
2017 – Gold Standard (1:28.46)
2016 – Impending (1:29.23)
2015 – Press Statement (1:29.32)
2014 – Shooting To Win (1:29.16
2013 – Eurozone (1:30.15)
2012 – Kabayan (1:31.97)
2011 – Manawanui (1:29.93)
2010 – Decision Time (1:23.19) (!400m)