Shannon Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Shannon Stakes is a Group 2 race run at Rosehill Racecourse for horses aged three and older. The 1500m handicap has a total prize pool of $200,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, September 26.

James McDonald guided Mister Sea Wolf to victory in the 2019 edition of the Shannon Stakes. Gem Song placed second and perennial runner-up Tom Melbourne ran third. In 2020 Mister Sea Wolf ran third in Group 1 Canterbury Stakes, before also competing in the Doncaster Mile and All Aged Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race is named after Hall of Fame horse and two-time George Main Stakes winner Shannon. It was first run in 1978, with For All Seasons claiming victory. Only one horse has ever claimed victory in the Shannon Stakes in consecutive years, with Never Quit winning in 1987 and 1988.

In 2019, Mister Sea Wolf ran a 1:29.11 over the Rosehill 1500m to win the Shannon Stakes. The fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Moral Victory, who in 2017 recorded 1:28.06 to beat the likes of Caped Crusader and Cosmic Cube.

Shannon Stakes Field

1Tyzone (3)J: Jim Byrne 59kg T: A J & T Edmonds$13.00$3.80
2Niccanova (8)J: Regan Bayliss 57.5kg T: Craig Carmody$15.00$4.20
3Quackerjack (11)J: Joshua Parr 57.5kg T: Mark Newnham$12.00$3.70
4Miss Siska (6)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: Matthew Smith$13.00$3.80
5I Am Superman (7)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 54.5kg T: P & P Snowden$3.70$1.65
6Looks Like Elvis (4)J: Jason Collett 54kg T: J M Austin$9.00$3.00
7Crack On Crack On (13)J: Brenton Avdulla 54kg T: Gary & John Moore$51.00$9.00
8Scarlet Dream (14)J: Tommy Berry 54kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$26.00$6.00
9Riodini (1)J: Ms Rachel King 53.5kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$8.00$2.70
10So You Win (12)J: Thomas Stockdale 53.5kg T: C J Waller$91.00$21.00
11Subpoenaed (2)J: Glen Boss 53kg T: C J Waller$8.50$2.80
12Nudge (9)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 53kg T: C J Waller$13.00$3.80
13Just Thinkin’ (5)J: Tim Clark 53kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$5.00$2.00
14Yamazaki (10)J: Robbie Dolan 53kg T: David Pfieffer$11.00$3.50



2019 – Mister Sea Wolf (1:29.11)
2018 – Noire (1:29.62)
2017 – Washington Heights (1:28.80)
2016 – Moral Victory (1:28.06)
2015 – Vashka (1:29.25)
2014 – Rock Sturdy (1:28.80)
2013 – Rain Drum (1:29.30)
2012 – Rolling Pin (1:31.18)
2011 – King Lionheart (1:28.56)
2010 – Firebolt (1:28.54)