Schillaci Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,100m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $400,000

The Schillaci Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race for horses three and older. The 1100m sprint has a $400,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, October 10.

Trekking won the 2019 edition of the Schillaci Stakes, edging out Ball Of Muscle and The Bostonian in an exciting race. Thanks to the Melbourne Racing Club, the victory earnt Trekking a place in The Everest, where he finished third behind Santa Ana Lane and winner Yes Yes Yes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run as the Chirnside Stakes in 1970, with Regal Vista claiming victory. In 2000 it was renamed the Schillaci Stakes after superstar sprinter and multiple Group 1 winner Schillaci.

A number of great horses have won the Schillaci Stakes over the years, including Mahogany, Miss Andretti and the legendary Black Caviar. In fact, Black Caviar is one of just two horses to win the race on multiple occasions, the other being Street Ruffian.

Trekking clocked 1:02.32 to win the Schillaci Stakes in 2019, which was the fastest time the race has seen since it changed to 1100m back in 2015. Surprisingly the fastest 1000m time in the Schillaci in the last 20 years doesn’t belong to Black Caviar, it was actually recorded by 2009 winner Lucky Secret (0:55.97)

2020 Schillaci Stakes Field

1Hey Doc (7)J: Luke Currie 58.5kg T: T & C Mcevoy$10.00$3.10
2Jungle Edge (4)J: Ms Jade Darose 58.5kg T: M A Bell$31.00$6.00
3Splintex (1)J: Hugh Bowman 58.5kg T: Mark Newnham$8.00$2.50
4Order Of Command (2)J: Damien Oliver 58.5kg T: D T O’brien$8.50$2.60
5William Thomas (8)J: Michael Dee 58.5kg T: J W Price$21.00$5.00
6Bold Star (3)J: Craig Williams 58.5kg T: G V Richards$12.00$3.50
7Octane (5)J: Jamie Kah 58.5kg T: P Stokes$9.50$2.90
8Dirty Work (10)J: William Pike 58.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$4.50$1.80
9Alfa Oro (6)J: Damian Lane 58.5kg T: M M Laurie$5.50$2.10
10Diamond Effort (9)J: Mark Zahra 56.5kg T: C W Mcdonald$4.60$1.80




2019 – Trekking (1:02.32)
2018 – Ball Of Muscle (1:02.54)
2017 – Super Cash (1:03.25)
2016 – Star Turn (1:02.89)
2015 – Alpha Miss (1:03.55)
2014 – Rubick (0:56.68) (1000m)
2013 – Unpretentious (0:57.67) (1000m)
2012 – Buffering (0:56.95) (1000m)
2011 – Black Caviar (0:56.73) (1000m)
2010 – Black Caviar (0:56.68) (1000m)