Sandown Guineas

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $250,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Sandown Guineas is a 1600m Group 2 race held at Sandown Racecourse for three-year-olds. It has set weights, a $250,000 prize pool, and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14.

The Tony and Calvin McEvoy-trained Pretty Brazen won the 2019 edition of the Sandown Guineas. Conqueror placed second and Mark Zahra rode Heart Of Puissance to third. Pretty Brazen didn’t run again in 2019 but in 2020 finished second in both the Group 3 Vanity and Group 2 Kewney Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Some strong gallopers have won the Sandown Guineas over the years, including Light Fingers (1964) and Taj Rossi (1973). Mahuta (2015) is the best of the recent winners, claiming victory multiple times at Group level.

The trainer-jockey combination of Peter Snowden and Kerrin McEvoy has had great success in the Sandown Guineas, winning it four times between 2008 and 2013. The victories were with Caymans, Kidnapped, Tatra and Paximadia.

Pretty Brazen ran 1:36.96 to win the Sandown Guineas in 2019, however, the time was over two seconds behind the fastest the race has seen. That honour belongs to Scenic Warrior, who clocked 1:34.60 in 2000.


2019 – Pretty Brazen (1:36.96)
2018 – Ringerdingding (1:37.48)
2017 – Villermont (1:37.53)
2016 – Morton’s Fork (1:40.05)
2015 – Mahuta (1:35.98)
2014 – Petrology (1:36.74)
2013 – Paximadia (1:37.39)
2012 – Tatra (1:36.77)
2011 – So Swift (1:38.84)
2010 – Pressday (1:42.71)