Roman Consul Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Roman Consul Stakes is a 1200m Group 2 race held at Randwick Racecourse. The three-year-old race with set weight conditions has a prize pool of $300,000 and in 2020 it will be run on Saturday, October 10. That is the same day as the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes.

The 2019 edition of the Roman Consul Stakes was won by Cosmic Force, who beat a relatively small field that included Standout and Microphone. After winning the race, Cosmic Force went on to race in the Coolmore Stud Stakes, finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from famous horse Roman Consul and was first run in 1979, with Meriville claiming victory. Since then some well-known runners have claimed victory in the Roman Consul Stakes, including Exeed And Excel, Fastnet Rock and Buffering.

Peter and Paul Snowden have had great success in the race in recent years, training the winner twice in the last four years. The two runners that saluted were Cosmic Force in 2019 and Russian Revolution in 2016.

Cosmic Force set the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years when he ran 1:08.14 to win in 2019. The time is less than a second behind Yes Yes Yes’ 1200m Randwick record which is 1:07.32.

2020 Roman Consul Stakes Field

1Wild Ruler (6)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: P & P Snowden$2.60$1.40
2Doubtland (3)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$2.40$1.35
3Osamu (5)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56.5kg T: C J Waller$9.50$3.80
4On The Lead (4)J: Tommy Berry 56.5kg T: R & M Freedman$11.00$4.40
5Muntaseera (2)J: Jason Collett 54.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$5.00$2.30
6Red Stiletto (1)J: Regan Bayliss 54.5kg T: A J Cummings$41.00$14.00



2019 – Cosmic Force (1:08.14)
2018 – Sesar (1:09.91)
2017 – Virdine (1:10.24)
2016 – Russian Revolution (1:09.08)
2015 – Exosphere (1:08.52)
2014 – Brazen Beau (1:09.04)
2013 – Zoustar (1:09.45)
2012 – Jolie Bay (1:09.62)
2011 – Foxwedge (1:11.16)
2010 – Buffering (1:09.07)