Premiere Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $500,000

The Premiere Stakes is a $500,000 Group 2 race held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. The 1200m weight-for-age race is used by horses as a lead-up to some of the big Group 1s later in the spring. In 2020 it will be run on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the both the Epsom Handicap and the Metropolitan.

Tommy Berry guided Brutal to victory in the Premiere Stakes in 2019, beating a small field that included Home Of The Brave and Classique Legend. It was an impressive win by the horse who had a $5 starting price, however he only went on to compete in one more race in the spring.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run in 1972, with Outback claiming victory. A number of top horses have since won the Premiere Stakes, including champions Kingston Town, Emancipation, and more recently, Santa Ana Lane.

There have been a few horses good enough to win the race in consecutive years. Joanne was the first to do it, winning in 1991 and 1992, while Mr. Innocent replicated the feat, racing to victory in 1999 and 2000.

Brutal recorded a 1:10.00 to win the race in 2019 but there have been a number of faster times in the race over the years. In fact, the fastest Premiere Stakes time of the last years 20 is 1:07.45, which champion sprinter Santa Ana Lane ran in 2018.

2020 Premiere Stakes Field, Barriers, and Odds

1Nature Strip (5)J: James Mcdonald 58.5kg T: C J Waller$1.75$1.06
2Classique Legend (7)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 58.5kg T: L J Bridge$3.00$1.16
3Deprive (6)J: Ms Rachel King 58.5kg T: James Cummings$26.00$3.60
4Standout (8)J: Nash Rawiller 58.5kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$12.00$2.10
5Signore Fox (1)J: Jeff Penza 58.5kg T: P & P Snowden$91.00$11.00
6Lord Von Costa (2)J: Blaike Mcdougall 58.5kg T: Ms D Scott$201.00$21.00
7Fasika (3)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: Joseph Pride$13.00$2.20
8Libertini (4)J: Regan Bayliss 56.5kg T: A J Cummings$13.00$2.20



2019 – Brutal (1:10.00)
2018 – Santa Ana Lane (1:07.45)
2017 – In Her Time (1:08.20)
2016 – Takedown (1:08.26)
2015 – Terravista (1:09.10)
2014 – Famous Seamus (1:09.86)
2013 – Arinosa (1:09.37)
2012 – Red Tracer (1:09.67)
2011 – Neeson (1:10.20)
2010 – Hot Danish (1:09.87)