P.B. Lawrence Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Aug 15th, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The P.B. Lawrence Stakes is a $200,000 Group 2 race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is raced over 1400m and is for horses aged three years and older, and is run under weight-for-age conditions.

In 2020, The P.B. Lawrence Stakes will be run on August 15th, on the same day as the Group 3 Vain Stakes (1100m) for colts and geldings, and the Group 3 Quezette Stakes (1100m) for fillies. It is the first Group 2 contest in the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

As the race is held in mid-August, it can suit either an in-form horse coming to the end of its winter campaign, or a spring star looking to get off to a fast start for the bigger, more prestigious contests ahead.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Mystic Journey took out the 2019 P.B. Lawrence Stakes ahead of Cliff’s Edge and Hartnell, on her way to the Cox Plate where she finished in 5th place.

Previous to 2011, the race was known as the J.J. Liston Stakes, honouring Williamston Race Club President J.J. Liston. Some notable past winners include Hartnell, Whobegotyou, Apache Cat, and Pompeii Ruler.

P.B. Lawrence Stakes Field

The P.B. Lawrence Stakes is commonly used as a lead up for the Group 1 Memsie Stakes at Caulfield, and generally attracts a reasonably strong field for runners looking to kick-start their spring campaigns, often aimed at feature events, like the Cox Plate.

P.B. Lawrence Stakes Betting

Because of the awkward timing of the race and the mixture of winter runners at the end of their preparations meeting spring gallopers hitting this fresh, it can be a difficult betting race for punters.

Only five favourites have taken out the P.B. Lawrence since Mahogany’s 1994 win ($1.62) – Apache Cat ($2.10 in 2007), Shoot Out ($3 in 2010), Puissance de Lune ($3.50 in 2013), Hartnell ($2.80 in 2017), and last year’s winner, Mystic Journey ($2.15).

P.B. Lawrence Stakes Recent Winners

2019 – Mystic Journey (1:24.4)

2018 – Showtime (1:23.6)

2017 – Hartnell (1:24.0)

2016 – Miss Rose De Lago (1:24.8)

2015 – Mourinho (1:23.5)

2014 – Star Rolling (1:24.3)

2013 – Puissance De Lune (1:21.4)

2012 – Second Effort (1:27.6)

2011 – Whobegotyou (1:23.9)

2010 – Shoot Out (1:27.2)