Linlithgow Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 31, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Linlithgow Stakes is a 1200m Group 2 race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. The handicap has a $300,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, October 31, which is the same day as the Victoria Derby.

Kemalpasa won the 2019 edition of the Linlithgow Stakes for the Jolly stable. Order Of Command and Zoutori finished second and third respectively, with Malibu Style rounding out the first four. Kemalpasa took no further part in the spring, meanwhile, Zoutori went on to race in the Darley Sprint Classic, finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The very first Linlithgow Stakes was run in 1868 and won by Gulnare. Back then the race was known as the Flying Stakes. Since then, some greats of the turf have won the race, including Phar Lap, Chatham, Ajax and Sky High.

There have been a number of horses who have won the Linlithgow Stakes in consecutive years, some of who have won it three times in a row. Barbelle, Chatham and Scamanda all managed to go back-to-back-to-back.

2019 winner Kemalpasa won the Linlithgow stakes in 1:10.08, however, the fastest time in the race over the last 21 years belongs to Pharein. In 1999, the David Hall-trained runner clocked 1:08.24 to claim victory.

2020 Linlithgow Stakes Field, Barriers and Odds

1Coruscate (3)J: Damien Oliver 60kg T: James Cummings$9.00$2.50
2Tactical Advantage (6)J: Hugh Bowman 60kg T: K A Lees$26.00$5.50
3Order Of Command (4)J: Damian Lane 59.5kg T: D T O’brien$20.00$4.80
4Kemalpasa (8)J: Craig Williams 58.5kg T: R & C Jolly$6.50$2.25
5Blazejowski (5)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 58kg T: G Eurell$7.50$2.35
6Banquo (10)J: Jye Mcneil 57kg T: D T O’brien$5.50$1.95
7Rich Charm (2)J: Michael Rodd 57kg T: Ms U Clarke$21.00$4.80
8Bold Star (9)J: Mark Zahra 56kg T: G V Richards$12.00$3.30
9Octane (7)J: Jamie Kah 54kg T: P Stokes$2.70$1.30
10Neighbourhood (1)J: Michael Dee 54kg T: E Jusufovic$31.00$6.00



2019 – Kemalpasa (1:10.08)
2018 – Osborne Bulls (1:09.88)
2017 – Rich Charm (1:08.90)
2016 – Illustrious Lad (1:08.31)
2015 – Eclair Choice (1:09.34)
2014 – Deep Field (1:11.05)
2013 – Fontelina (1:09.01)
2012 – Fontelina (1:08.81)
2011 – Sister Madly (1:10.41)
2010 – Whitefriars (1:11.11)