Herbert Power Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $400,000

Herbert Power Stakes is a 2400m Group 2 race held at Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria. Often used as a lead-up race to for the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup, the handicap race has a $400,000 prize pool and is run under handicap conditions. In 2020 it will be held on Saturday, October 10, the same day as the Group 1 Toorak Handicap.

The Chosen One won the 2019 edition of the Herbert Power Stakes, with Prince Of Arran and Sully finishing second and third respectively. Both The Chosen One and Prince Of Arran went on to race in the Melbourne Cup` with the latter finishing second, just 0.2L behind Vow And Declare.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run as the Eclipse Stakes back in 1898, with Cocos taking out the victory. It has since been renamed the Herbert Power Stakes, taking its name from the former chairman of the Victoria Amateur Turf Club, Herbert Power.

A number of champion horses have claimed victory in the Herbert Power Stakes, amongst them are Wakeful, Poseidon, Rising Fast, Arwon and Rogan Josh. Both Wakeful and Poseidon won the race in consecutive years, a feat that the likes of Dashing Beau and Durham have both since replicated.

The Chosen One clocked 2:27.52 to win the race in 2019 but it wasn’t the fastest winning time in the race over the last 20 years. That belongs to Yucatan, who in 2018 managed to run a 2:26.47.

2020 Herbert Power Stakes Field

1The Chosen One (7)J: Michael Dee 58kg T: M Baker & A Forsman$12.00$3.30
2Raheen House (11)J: Hugh Bowman 57.5kg T: K A Lees$51.00$7.50
3Orderofthegarter (4)J: Damien Oliver 55.5kg T: D T O’brien$2.35$1.30
4Platinum Invador (9)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: P G Moody$91.00$18.00
5Miami Bound (1)J: Jamie Kah 54kg T: D T O’brien$18.00$4.20
6Mahamedeis (5)J: Craig Newitt 54kg T: Nick Ryan$17.00$4.00
7In Good Health (2)J: Luke Nolen 54kg T: P G Moody$7.00$2.25
8Zebrowski (3)J: William Pike 54kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$9.50$2.60
9Chapada (8)J: Daniel Stackhouse 54kg T: M D Moroney$6.50$2.15
10Gallic Chieftain (10)J: Damian Lane 54kg T: Archie Alexander$15.00$3.70
11Polly Grey (6)J: Craig Williams 54kg T: C J Waller$12.00$3.30



2019 – The Chosen One (2:27.52)
2018 – Yucatan (2:26.47)
2017 – Lord Fandango (2:27.67)
2016 – Assign (2:29.15)
2015 – Amralah (2:27.77)
2014 – Big Memory (2:26.68)
2013 – Sea Moon (2:29.98)
2012 – Shahwardi (2:28.82)
2011 – Shewan (2:30.75)
2010 – Linton (2:29.43)