Gilgai Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Gilgai Stakes is a 1200m Group 2 race held at Flemington Racecourse. It is run with set weights and penalties, is for horses aged three and older and has a prize pool of $200,000. In 2020, the Gilgai Stakes will take place on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes.

Sunlight won the 2019 edition of the Gilgai Stakes, beating Santa Ana Lane and Zoutori in an exciting battle. From the Gilgai Stakes, Sunlight went on to race in both The Everest and the Golden Eagle, finishing second in the latter.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run as the Sir Rupert Steele Stakes back in 1984, taking its name from the former VRC chairman. However, it was renamed after the Gilgai Farm Stud, which has produced the likes of Black Caviar, Jameka and The Quarterback.

Royal Troubador won the first edition of the race and since then a number of great horses have claimed victory. They include Placid Ark, Hareeba, Hay List and Chautauqua. The ‘Grey Flash’ is the only horse to win the Gilgai Stakes in consecutive years, taking it home in 2014 and 2015.

Sunlight clocked 1:09.42 to win the race in 2019, however, the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to 2005 winner Falkirk. The Lee Freedman-trained runner managed to go sub-1:08.00, running a 1:07.96. The 1200m Flemington track record is 1:07.16, which was set by Iglesia.

2020 Gilgai Stakes Field, Odds and Barriers

1Fifty Stars (8)J: John Allen 60kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$26.00$5.50
2Zoutori (6)J: Jamie Kah 59kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$5.00$1.80
3Kemalpasa (10)J: Craig Williams 59kg T: R & C Jolly$34.00$6.00
4Tofane (4)J: Damien Oliver 58kg T: M D Moroney$2.90$1.30
5The Inevitable (1)J: Ben Melham 58kg T: Scott Brunton$6.00$2.05
6Santa Ana Lane (3)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: A & S Freedman$4.50$1.65
7Kementari (9)J: William Pike 57kg T: James Cummings$12.00$3.30
8Dollar For Dollar (7)J: Luke Currie 57kg T: T & C Mcevoy$13.00$3.50
9I Am Someone (2)J: Brett Prebble 57kg T: P A Preusker$31.00$6.00
10Excess Funds (5)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: Levi Kavanagh$26.00$5.50



2019 – Sunlight (1:09.42)
2018 – I Am Excited (1:09.11)
2017 – Keen Array (1:09.28)
2016 – The Quarterback (1:09.07)
2015 – Chautauqua (1:09.81)
2014 – Chautauqua (1:08.28)
2013 – Platelet (1:10.19)
2012 – Hallowell Belle (1:08.83)
2011 – Temple of Boom (1:10.57)
2010 – Hay List (1:08.20)