Furious Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Furious Stakes is a 1200m Group 2 race run at Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales. It is raced with set weights and is for three-year-old fillies. In 2020, it will be held on Saturday, September 5, with a prize pool of $200,000.

In 2019 Libertini won the Furious Stakes against a relatively small field. Gerald Ryan’s Villami finished second and Let It Pour was third. Libertini would go on to run third in the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes later in the spring before another third-place finish, this time in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

La Cadeau won the first Furious Stakes back in 1986 and since then a number of great horses have won the race. Two-time Cox Plate winner Sunline was victorious in 1998, the race was just the third win of Winx’s young career in 2014.

No horse has ever won the Furious Stakes in consecutive years but jockey Hugh Bowman has had success of late, winning it three times in the last 12 years.

The Furious Stakes became a 1200m race as of 2013 and the fastest time since then belongs to Bound For Earth, who clocked 1:09.07 in 2013. Libertini wasn’t far off in 2019, recording 1:09.22 to claim victory


2019 – Libertini (1:09.22)
2018 – Pure Elation (1:09.17)
2017 – Formality (1:09.90)
2016 – Fox Play (1:12.58)
2015 – Speak Fondly (1:10.64)
2014 – Winx (1:11.99)
2013 – Bound For Earth (1:09.07)
2012 – Dear Demi (1:22.95) (1400m)
2011 – Streama (1:25.06) (1400m)
2010 – More Strawberries (1:27.08) (1400m)