Feehan Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $250,000

The Feehan Stakes is one of the earliest feature races of the Victorian Spring Racing Carnival and is run over 1600m at Moonee Valley. In 2020, the race will be held on Saturday, September 5, the same day as the 1000m Group 2 McEwen Stakes

The total prize pool for the Feehan Stakes is $250,000 and last year the weight-for-age race was won by Homesman, ahead of Mahamedeis and Best Of Days. Homesman placed second in the Feehan Stakes in 2018 behind Magic Consol, however, managed to turn the tables a year later, claiming an impressive victory.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Feehan Stakes was named the Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes for over a decade, however, in 2019 it was once again raced as the John F. Feehan Stakes. Feehan was the owner of the land that Moonee Valley racecourse is currently located, meanwhile, Dato’ Tan Chin Nam was a Malaysian entrepreneur and racehorse owner who had shares in horses such as Think Big, Saintly, Viewed and So You Think.

The very first Feehan Stakes was first run as the Glenroy Stakes in 1948 and was won by Phoibos. Legendary horse Rising Fast won the race in 1954, the same year he won the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and the Cox Plate.

In 2013 Fiorente won the Feehan Stakes and later that spring, edged out Red Cadeaux to win the Melbourne Cup for trainer Gai Waterhouse and jockey Damien Oliver.

Homesman won the 2019 Feehan Stakes in 1:37.04, which falls short of the fastest time the race has been run over the past 20 years. That belongs to Happy Trails, who in 2012 won in a sensational time of 1:35:56. The Moonee Valley track record over 1600m is 1:34:42, which Lubiton ran back in 2017.


2019 – Homesman (1:37:04)
2018 – Magic Consol (1:36:56)
2017 – Bonneval (1:37:33)
2016 – Awesome Rock (1:37:01)
2015 – The Cleaner (1:36:30)
2014 – The Cleaner (1:35:94)
2013 – Fiorente (1:37:28)
2012 – Happy Trails (1:35:56)
2011 – Rekindled Interest (1:37:67)
2010 – Whobegotyou (1:39:67)