Danehill Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 12, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Danehill Stakes is a 1200m Group 2 race held at Flemington racecourse in Victoria. It is for 3-year-olds and is run with set weights plus penalties.

In 2020 the Danehill Stakes will take place on Saturday, September 12, with $200,000 worth of prize money up for grabs.

Last year colt Dalasan won the race for Leon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas with Raquel Clark on board. It was a good result for punters as Dalasan started as a $2.60 favourite. Dubious and Express Pass made up the placings while Sebrakate rounded out the first four.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Despite originally being run as The Black Douglas in 1982, as of 2006, the race has been called the Danehill Stakes. It is named after Australian Racing Hall of Fame horse Danehill.

In the first edition of the race in 1982, Fiesta Star claimed victory. Since then it has been won by some greats, including Fastnet Rock and the legendary Black Caviar. The Danehill Stakes was in fact the first Group race Black Caviar won and the fourth in its historic 25-race run.

Danehill Stakes Field

NoLast 10HorseTrainerJockeyBarrierWeightPenaltyHcp Rating
1116162xPRAGUECiaron Maher & David EustaceJohn Allen858.5kg91
24x14x115xWISDOM OF WATERMick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr)Mark Zahra758.5kg81
31x0x10HARD LANDINGTom Dabernig & Ben HayesLuke Nolen358.5kg80
411x5DOUBTLANDMichael, Wayne & John HawkesWilliam Pike958.5kg80
52x271x84EXTRA TIMELeon Macdonald & Andrew GluyasCraig Williams258.5kg72
635413xAMISH BOYCiaron Maher & David EustaceJamie Mott157kg69
723x25RANTING (NZ)Leon & Troy CorstensBen Melham557kg70
835x112ON THE LEADRichard & Michael FreedmanLuke Currie1057kg68
911TYDEUSLindsey SmithMichael Rodd1157kg68
102130xPERSONALTom Dabernig & Ben HayesDamien Oliver455kg82
111ANNAVISTO (NZ)Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr)Jye McNeil655kg64

After winning the Danehill Stakes last year Dalasan went on to compete in the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas. He ran a solid race finishing fifth, however was overshadowed by the superstar showdown between Super Seth and Alligator Blood.

Last year Dalasan clocked 1:09.40 over the Flemington 1200m to take out the race but it wasn’t the fastest time the Danehill Stakes has seen. Rich Enuff has been the fastest in the last 20 years, winning in 2014 with a time of 1:08.13.


2019 – Dalasan (1:09.40)
2018 – Encryption (1:10.64)
2017 – Catchy (1:10.34)
2016 – Saracino (1:09.80)
2015 – Kinglike (1:09.06)
2014 – Rich Enuff (1:08.13)
2013 – Charlie Boy (1:10.00)
2012 – Snitzerland (1:10.54)
2011 – Sepoy (1:08.71)
2010 – Soul (1:11.63)