Chelmsford Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $250,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Chelmsford Stakes is a 1600m Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Randwick Racecourse. In 2020 it will be run on Saturday, September 5 with the prize pool totalling $250,000. The race is for horses aged three and older.

In 2019 the Bjorn Baker-trained Samadoubt won the Chelmsford Stakes, dominating the field. Avilius finished second 3.3 lengths behind Samadoubt, while Girl Tuesday slipped in for third. The victory came just two weeks after Samadoubt also won the Group 1 Winx Stakes. He would go on to race in the Group 1 George Main Stakes and place in the Hill Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Chelmsford Stakes was back in 1895, with Newman claiming victory. Since then it has changed venues and distance a number of times, however, since 2013 it has been competed over the Randwick 1600m.

Surprisingly, the Chelmsford Stakes has seen a number of three-peats. The first was by Limerick (‘26, ‘27 & ‘28), who was then followed by Delta (‘50, ‘51 & ‘52). Roman Consul is the most recent runner to achieve the feat, winning in 1967, 1968, 1969.

The race has seen victories by some of the very best to ever grace the turf. Phar Lap won the Chelmsford Stakes in 1930, and Kingston Town won it twice (‘80 and ‘81). Might and Power was the winner in 1998 and Winx won it with relative ease in 2017 before going on to win three Group 1s in that spring alone.


Samadoubt’s victory in 2019 came in a time of 1:35.15, however, it should be no surprise that the fastest 1600m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to the champion mare, Winx. The Chris Waller-trained superstar won in 2017 with a dashing time of 1:34.11.



2019 – Samadoubt (1:35.15)
2018 – Unforgotten (1:35.18)
2017 – Winx (1:34.11)
2016 – Hartnell (1:39.13)
2015 – Complacent (1:37.68)
2014 – Hawkspur (1:39.32)
2013 – Hawkspur (1:34.79)
2012 – Danleigh (1:36.24)
2011 – Trusting (1:37.12)
2010 -Theseo (1:39.61)