Bobbie Lewis Quality

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 12, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Bobbie Lewis Quality is a 1200m Group 2 race held at Flemington racecourse in Victoria. The prize pool for the handicap race is $200,000 and it is for horses aged four and older.

The 2020 edition of the Bobbie Lewis Quality will be on Saturday, September 12, 2020, the same day as the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes.

Zoutori won the 1200m Group 2 in 2019 in convincing fashion, beating out Parsifal and 2018 winner Dothraki. It was a good result for plenty of punters, as Zoutori was relatively well-backed heading into the race.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The very first Bobbie Lewis Quality was held in 1974 and was won by Citadel. Since then a number of well-known horses have claimed victory in the race, including Chautauqua, Redkirk Warrior, Hareeba and Placid Ark.

The race is named after legendary jockey Bob Lewis. No jockey has won more Victorian Derbies or Victorian Oaks than Lewis, and in 2002 he was inducted into the Victorian racing Hall of Fame.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Field

NoLast 10HorseTrainerJockeyBarrierWeightPenaltyHcp Rating
1011x77351xTOFANE (NZ)Michael MoroneyDamien Oliver358kg113
2342122319xHELLOVA STREETScott BruntonJason Maskiell456kg105
31336x2400xZOUTORIMathew Ellerton & Simon ZahraMark Zahra656kg105
4x1110x820xTHE INEVITABLEScott BruntonBen Melham155.5kg104
5055x2308x8DOLLAR FOR DOLLARTony & Calvin McEvoyLuke Currie555kg103
611x0x16232GREAT AGAINLindsey SmithDeclan Bates1054kg100
712128438x4BOLD STARGordon RichardsCraig Williams854kg95
863x848115xGALAXY RAIDERGrahame BeggTeodore Nugent (a)754kg95
92114x325x7BANQUODanny O'BrienJye McNeil954kg84
10x1860x1220ROCK PROPHETRay BesankoLewis German (a)254kg72

Group 1 winner Bon Hoffa is the only horse to win the race in consecutive years, claiming victory in 2007 and 2008. In fact, the 2008 Bobbie Lewis Quality was the last race Bon Hoffa won before being retired in 2009.

In 2019 the Mathew Ellerton and Simon Zahra-trained Zoutori won the Bobbie Lewis Quality in 1:08.37. The only winner in the last 20 years that finished the race faster than Zoutori was “The Grey Flash” himself, Chautauqua back in 2014. He clocked 1:08.11 to claim victory over Temple of Boom and In Cahoots.


2019 – Zoutori (1:08.37)
2018 – Dothraki (1:09.81)
2017 – Redkirk Warrior (1:09.94)
2016 – Faatinah (1:09.13)
2015 – Churchill Dancer (1:08.86)
2014 – Chautauqua (1:08.11)
2013 – Speediness (1:09.43)
2012 – We’re Gonna Rock (1:10.86)
2011 – Lone Rock (1:08.84)
2010 – Doubtful Jack (1:11.48)