VRC Sprint Classic


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The VRC Sprint Classic is a 1200m Group 1 weight-for-age race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a $2 million prize pool and is one of the major sprints of the Spring Racing Carnival. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, November 7, the same day as the Mackinnon Stakes.

Superstar gelding Nature Strip won the 2019 edition of the VRC Sprint Classic, beating home a strong field, with Loving Gaby and In Her Time finishing second and third. Nature Strip didn’t run again in 2019 but won the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes in 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Karina won the very first running of the VRC Sprint Classic, which was back in 1960. Back then it was called the Craven ‘A’ Stakes and it has been raced under a variety of different names since.

A few elite runners have won the VRC Sprint Classic in recent years, including Miss Andretti, Black Caviar, Buffering and Redzel. In fact, champion mare Black Caviar won the race twice in the early 2010s.

The fastest time in the VRC Sprint Classic over the last 20 years belongs to 2002 winner Rubitano, who clocked 1:07.17 to claim victory. To put that into perspective, Nature Strip won the 2019 edition of the race in 1:09.23.

VRC Sprint Classic Field

The VRC Sprint Classic is a Group 1 $2 million race and therefore some of the very sprinters going around feature in the field. The 2019 field was surprisingly small, however, in the past, the race has seen upwards of 13 runners.

2020 VRC Sprint Classic Field, Barriers & Odds

1Santa Ana Lane (7)J: Ben Melham 58.5kg T: A & S Freedman$8.00$2.50
2Nature Strip (9)J: James Mcdonald 58.5kg T: C J Waller$3.90$1.60
3Bivouac (6)J: Glen Boss 58.5kg T: James Cummings$3.70$1.55
4Hey Doc (3)J: Luke Currie 58.5kg T: T & C Mcevoy$11.00$3.30
5Graff (1)J: Damian Lane 58.5kg T: D T O’brien$17.00$4.40
6Zoutori (4)J: Jamie Kah 58.5kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$11.00$3.30
7Standout (8)J: Unknown 58.5kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$31.00$6.00
8Tofane (2)J: Jye Mcneil 56.5kg T: M D Moroney$13.00$3.60
9Libertini (5)J: Damien Oliver 56.5kg T: A J Cummings$7.50$2.45
10Fabergino (10)J: Jordan Childs 56.5kg T: Tiarnna Robertson$17.00$4.40

VRC Sprint Classic Betting

Like many of the top races in the spring, the VRC Sprint Classic has a mixed betting history. Four of the last five winners have had starting prices of $10 or less. The only outlier is 2015 winner Delectation who, at $14, beat Chautauqua and Terravista in a thrilling race.

VRC Sprint Classic Results

1Nature StripChris WallerJames McDonald$3.60
2Loving GabyCiaron Maher & David EustaceCraig Williams$7.50
3In Her TimeKris LeesBrenton Avdulla$12
4AlizeeJames CummingsHugh Bowman$10
5Santa Ana LaneAnthony FreedmanMark Zahra$2.15
6ZoutoriMathew Ellerton & Simon ZahraDamian Lane$20
7Malibu StyleNeville ParnhamDamien Oliver$91
8The BostonianTony PikeDwayne Dunn$41
9Rock MagicChris GangemiJarrad Noske$71


2019 – Nature Strip (1:09.23)
2018 – Santa Ana Lane (1:08.66)
2017 – Redzel (1:08.74)
2016 – Malaguerra (1:10.25)
2015 – Delectation (1:10.07)
2014 – Terravista (1:08.79)
2013 – Buffering (1:10.36)
2012 – Mental (1:09.04)
2011 – Black Caviar (1:08.32)
2010 – Black Caviar (1:07.96)