Underwood Stakes


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Underwood Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held at Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria. The 1800m race has a total prize pool of $750,000 and in 2020 will be run on Sunday, September 27.

In 2019, Lindsey Smith’s Black Heart Bart won the Underwood Stakes, edging out Homesman. Gailo Chop, with Damien Oliver on board, rounded out the placings. Black Heart Bart’s win came as a massive surprise to many, and he had an incredible starting price of $101. He went on to finish second in the Caulfield Stakes before finishing his spring with a mid-field finish in the Cox Plate.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Underwood Stakes was first run back in 1924 and was won by Whittier, who also managed to claim victory in the race a year later. Some of the very best horses to ever grace the turf have won the Underwood Stakes. Phar Lap won the race in 1931, which was the same year he won the Cox Plate. Other big-name horses who have saluted in the Underwood Stakes include; Ajax, Northerly, El Segundo, Weekend Hussler and So You Think.

A number of horses have won the Underwood Stakes in consecutive years, with Highland being the first, winning in 1928 and 1929. Ajax managed to complete a three-peat (1938, ‘39, ‘40), while the most recent runner to do it was Northerly, who was victorious in 2001 and 2002. Black Heart Bart became a two-time winner in 2019, having also had success in 2016.

The fastest winning time of the Underwood Stakes in the last 20 years belongs to Oliver Twist, who in 2000 clocked an impressive 1:47.63. Black Heart Bart won the 2019 edition of the race in 1:49.27. The track record at Caulfield over 1800m is 1:47.90, which Cent Home clocked back in 2001.

Underwood Stakes Field

Due to the Underwood Stakes being a Group 1 race, which is also regularly used in the lead-up to the Turnbull, it always has a strong field. In 2020, nominations close on September 21 and final acceptances are announced on September 23.

2020 Underwood Stakes Field

1Gailo Chop (5)J: Dean Yendall 59kg T: M J Williams$91.00$16.00
2Humidor (3)J: Craig Williams 59kg T: C J Waller$14.00$3.10
3Trap For Fools (6)J: Declan Bates 59kg T: L Smith$91.00$16.00
4Levendi (4)J: Jason Maskiell 59kg T: Peter Gelagotis$101.00$18.00
5So Si Bon (8)J: Daniel Stackhouse 59kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$26.00$4.80
6Mr Quickie (10)J: Damian Lane 59kg T: P Stokes$7.00$1.95
7The Chosen One (2)J: Michael Dee 59kg T: M Baker & A Forsman$12.00$2.60
8Harbour Views (7)J: John Allen 59kg T: M J Williams$11.00$2.45
9Arcadia Queen (1)J: William Pike 57kg T: G & A Williams$4.80$1.45
10Russian Camelot (9)J: Damien Oliver 56.5kg T: D T O’brien$2.00$1.16


Underwood Stakes Betting

As mentioned, the Underwood Stakes normally has a very strong field, which means that it can be a difficult race betting-wise. However, aside from the Black Heart Bart’s shock win in 2019, the race has been good to punters, with the three winners prior to Black Heart Bart all being well-backed in the market.

Underwood Stakes Results

As mentioned, Black Heart Bart shocked the racing world to win the Underwood Stakes in 2019. He beat out Homesman and Gailo Chop, with Hartnell rounding out the first four.

1Black Heart BartLindsey SmithBrad Rawiller$101
2HomesmanLiam HowleyBen Melham$2.50
3Gailo ChopMatthew WilliamsDamien Oliver$26
4HartnellJames CummingsHugh Bowman$4.20
5GattingDarren McAuliffeJamie Kah$5.50
6HarlemDavid & B Hayes & T DabernigDwayne Dunn$71
7Trap For FoolsJarrod McLeanPeter Hall$61
8Yulong PrinceChris WallerMark Zahra$41
9The Chosen OneMurray Baker & Andrew ForsmanDamian Lane$9.50
10HumidorCiaron Maher & David EustaceKerrin McEvoy$26
11Super TitusDavid & B Hayes & T DabernigJye McNeil$41
12KenednaCiaron Maher & David EustaceJohn Allen$19


2020 – Russian Camelot (1:50.85)
2019 – Black Heart Bart (1:49.27)
2018 – Homesman (1:48.70)
2017 – Bonneval (1:48.41)
2016 – Black Heart Bart (1:50.64)
2015 – Mourinho (1:48.83)
2014 – Foreteller (1:50.25)
2013 – Dundeel (1:54.70)
2012 – Ocean Park (1:51.40)
2011 – Lion Tamer (1:50.03)
2010 – So You Think (1:49.54)