Toorak Handicap


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Toorak Handicap is a 1600m Group 1 race held at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a total prize pool of $500,000 and many horses who compete in the race go on to feature in the Emirates Stakes later in spring. In 2020, the Toorak Handicap will be run on Saturday, October 10, the same day as three other Group 1s at Caulfield.

Fierce Impact won the 2019 edition of the Toorak Handicap for trainer Matthew Smith. Night’s Watch and Age Of Chivalry finished second and third respectively, while Sikandarabad rounded out the first four. After winning the Toorak Handicap, Fierce Impact went on to claim victory in the $2 million Kennedy Cantala.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Some of the greats of the turf have won the Toorak Handicap, which is no surprise considering its rich history. Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup winner Galilee won the race in 1966 and a year later two-time Cox Plate winner Tobin Bronze claimed victory. More recently we’ve seen the likes Divine Madonna and More Joyous cross the line in first.

There have been five runners who have won the Toorak Handicap – Caulfield Cup double. The first to do it was The Trump in 1937, however, no horse has done it since Leilani in 1974.

Darren Weir had experienced great success in the Toorak Handicap before he was banned from the sport. He trained four winners between 2014 and 2018, with the David Hayes-trained He’s Our Rokkii spoiling a potential five-peat in 2016.

In 2019, Fierce Impact clocked 1:135.19 to win the Toorak Handicap. It was a decent time but not the best the race has seen over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Land Of Plenty, who in 2018 ran the Caulfield 1600m in 1:34.52.

Toorak Handicap Field

As one of the leading mile races in the Spring Racing Carnival, there should be no surprise that the Toorak Handicap field is normally very strong. It is also normally large, and its size can make it difficult for punters to find a winner. In 2020 nominations for the race close October 5 and final acceptances are on October 7.

2020 Toorak Handicap Field

1Mr Quickie (2)J: Jamie Kah 59kg T: P Stokes$14.00$4.20
2Cascadian (6)J: Damien Oliver 58.5kg T: James Cummings$12.00$3.80
3So Si Bon (12)J: Luke Nolen 58kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$26.00$6.00
4I Am Superman (7)J: Mark Zahra 57.5kg T: P & P Snowden$8.00$2.80
5Superstorm (13)J: William Pike 57.5kg T: G & A Williams$11.00$3.50
6Chief Ironside (3)J: Hugh Bowman 57kg T: K A Lees$26.00$6.00
7Mandela Effect (8)J: Craig Newitt 56.5kg T: Scott Brunton$34.00$7.50
8Reykjavik (14)J: Dean Yendall 56.5kg T: L Smith$26.00$6.00
9Achernar Star (1)J: Jamie Mott 56kg T: L Smith$34.00$7.50
10Sikandarabad (10)J: Jye Mcneil 56kg T: Sam Kavanagh$51.00$10.00
11Sircconi (11)J: Daniel Stackhouse 56kg T: Nick Ryan$14.00$4.20
12Age Of Chivalry (15)J: Damian Lane 55.5kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$20.00$5.50
13Junipal (9)J: John Allen 55.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$5.00$2.00
14Harlech (4)J: Michael Dee 54.5kg T: M D Moroney$34.00$7.50
15Buffalo River (5)J: Craig Williams 53kg T: M D Moroney$3.80$1.70


Toorak Handicap Betting

Despite the quality of runners and the size of the fields, the Toorak Handicap has actually been relatively kind to punters in recent years. From the last five editions of the race, four of the winners have had starting prices of $10 or less. The outlier is 2019 winner Fierce Impact, who had a starting price of $18.

Toorak Handicap Results

1Fierce ImpactMatthew SmithCraig Williams$18
2Night’s WatchChris WallerJames McDonald$7
3Age Of ChivalryMathew Ellerton & Simon ZahraKerrin McEvoy$9
4SikandarabadDavid HayesMark Zahra$13
5Waging WarLeon Macdonald & Andrew GluyasRaquel Clark$7
6Cliff’s EdgeCiaron Maher & David EustaceJohn Allen$26
7Madison CountyMurray Baker & Andrew ForsmanDamian Lane$16
8Miss SiskaGrahame BeggDean Yendall$26
9Widgee TurfPatrick PayneBilly Egan$12
10MahamedeisNick RyanBen Melham$15
11Streets Of AvalonShane NicholsZac Spain$51
12Princess JenniDavid BrideoakeDamien Oliver$7.50
13Chiefs IronsideDavid MenuisierAnthony Darmanin$26
14So Si BonDavid HayesLuke Nolen$21
15AmphitriteDavid HayesJamie Kah$17
16Order AgainBrian J SmithLarry Cassidy$101
17WyndspelleJohno BennerMichael Dee$61
18DyslexicMichael, Wayne & John HawkesDamien Thornton$31


2019 – Fierce Impact (1:35.19)
2018 – Land Of Plenty (1:34.5)
2017 – Tosen Stardom (1:35.86)
2016 – He’s Our Rokkii (1:36.18)
2015 – Lucky Hussler (1:34.57)
2014 – Trust In A Gust (1:35.20)
2013 – Solzhenitsyn (1:36.40)
2012 – Solzhenitsyn (1:35.25)
2011 – King Mufhasa (1:36.29)
2010 – More Joyous (1:35.40)